My New Adventure in New Zealand [part 1]

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

18403827_1306445476108214_1187193890463799652_o.jpg
I arrived in Auckland 07/18 and have been settling in to my current living situation. I'll start at the beginning of the journey leading up to my plane trip.

An Empty House


AC044.jpg
Credit: Jim Davis

I'm 25 and moved back in with my parents after I finished my bachelor's degree (I have no shame). They left for NZ with my younger sister (approximately) 07/09. I had the entire house to myself. Needless to say, I got really loud with my music production.

I started packing away things that I wasn't going to be using, like clothing and a few odds and ends. Then got to work on my latest track, California Corpse. Fast forward to four days before the plane trip and I'm heading to Hollywood to meet with a producer I've come to know as Lox Chatterbox. Lox is currently pretty large on Spotify and has a significant following in Europe. I was surprised that he was open to me coming to his studio to see what life is like for a more accomplished producer.

Getting Schooled



Basically I sat down and was hoping that he would like the mix that I had of my album and most recent song. He then proceeded to pick apart all the mistakes I made and to be fair... He was right. He was giving me such good advice, but my main problem was that I was moving within two days and needed to send off my tracks to the internet before I lost access to my desktop.

Some notes on his advice. Your vocals will generally sound better in the center. This is unless you want to highlight a few bars. For example if you say, "I'm on a boat, I have just bought, Just kidding mom, it's a yacht!"
You would set that last line it's a yacht to the sides.

That's all I have time for, as the kiwi vines beckon me to wake up early tomorrow morning. If you want to follow me on instagram I'm your_kardashian. I'm posting my pictures in a series of 3.

Upvote and Follow :)