My Coronavirus Experience on the Front Lines

in #blog4 years ago

"I bet grocery store employees didn't think they would get drafted for duty in 2020."
Time traveling Abraham Lincoln

corona cream.jpg

As many may or may not know...
I'm a grocery guy. This has been my job for the last twenty five years and currently still is my job.
I work for Whole Foods in Portland Oregon. With the recent crisis, I'd like to share some insight with all you hive mates out there who may be wondering what to do in these scary times.


Before proceeding, the first thing to know when shopping these days is that... No, we do not have any more hand sanitizer hidden in the back or anywhere else. Please stop asking. Thank you.

clean points.png

Now this huge rush to buy five times the amount of groceries that people normally do had a very large and apparent cascading effect. First the store shelves get wiped out and two days later, our distributors are pretty much wiped out.

Beans.jpgRice.jpgpasta.sauce.jpg
Beans
Rice
Pasta and Sauce

Our region uses UNFI distribution but i'm expecting Amazon to take over soon like it always does.
UNFI has been a total shit show. I won't get into too many details but some examples are....

We order 1000 cases of dry grocery. They say they will send one third of that and they decide what they send. Whaa Whaaat?

Trucks show up at one in the morning. (You can't plan your labor with inconsistent delivery times.)

They are so backed up that they are skipping stores and being like tough titty! No groceries for you!

So it has been crazy and no, I haven't had any toilet paper come in for the last week. But ya gotta look for some sunshine in this time dispare.

We are getting a $2 pay increase through April...I believe.
Overtime is now double time instead of time and a half.
I have a shit ton of PTO saved up but now that my trip to Hawaii is put on hold....

I just need to work one 10 hour shift a week to get two hours overtime.:)
So I got that going for me.


Slowly things are making their way back onto the shelves and stock is being replenished.

From a grocers point of view, I ask that you eat some of the stuff you already bought instead of shopping like you are in the Chopped™ pantry and trying to make a dish out of graham crackers, anchovie paste, and yogurt covered raisins. Just shop normally folks. Just shop normally.

I hope everyone is staying safe and distanced at this time. I know many others have it way harder and I am not really on the "front lines." Lets do all we can to help in a time of crisis. Thank you for reading and as always...

Keep being Cool Hive Mates!!!


Sort:  

So when you said you don't have any sanitizer in the back....that's just secret code for other people asking right! wink, wink..nothing a few hive transfered couldn't help with I'm sure.. haha

Take care out there mate, its seems afraid people are more to fear than the virus..

I haven't had too many run ins with crazy people yet but I really hope this doesn't go on for a super long time. I could see some sort of "Lord of the Flies" scenario happening.

Stay safe!

You have to have some really crazy stories. I do not envy you one tiny bit!! Stay SAFE!!

I've got a couple of days off coming up.
I usually do social distancing on my weekends so.. no change.

and yes...lots of stories. People are crazy :)
Like people trying to special order stuff!
I don't even know if the truck is showing up!

You stay safe too!