You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Down-votes: Steemit's Achilles' Heel?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Well down-votes are a part of the internet.

This is called an Appeal to Tradition. It is a logical fallacy that doesn't prove anything. It is the fallacy that "because, a thing has been a certain way we should continue or it is true". In reality, they have not been "part of the internet" for that long. I remember a time not long ago when the up vote/down vote didn't exist. They are actually a fairly recent thing in terms of the internet.

In addition, they are really only a THING on certain sites like youtube, and reddit. In fact, I wonder which one of those was first. I suspect youtube.

My issue with "get past" is you like many people before you are assuming because you know a thing everyone else should know a thing. You are assuming because YOU can get past a thing that everyone else will be okay with getting past it. You are also assuming that because you use down votes so will the people that come here.

As far as down votes and the appeal to tradition. As far as I know no where else has it so the down vote impacts any monetary gains. This makes it a force multiplier.

I don't ASSUME people are going to be of a certain behavior, and certain perception on down votes. If this place takes off like we want it to we are going to have a lot of people. We have a pretty reasonable group of people now, and down votes are an issue. What happens when/if the masses come here. I am not anti-down vote for myself. I've only ever had the asshole bot down vote my stuff. I've seen how it has impacted other people though and it is likely an issue.

because it is everywhere else on the internet,

This is absolutely not true. It is in a few places on the internet.

EDIT: I am also not saying get rid of the down vote. I simply think we need to find a way to help new people GET whatever way we end up with, without ASSUMING they will get it. That assumption is already proving to often be false with some of the existing people that come here, and even some that are here for awhile.

EDIT 2: Out of curiosity I did a quick google search. Not comprehensive, but it did remind me of a few other sites that have the up vote/down vote. It is not EVERYWHERE on the internet by a long shot. It is mostly youtube, and reddit. It is spreading to other places. Imgur is another place that has it. I didn't check Pinterest, but possibly it has it as well.

I know facebook doesn't have it now. I can't remember if they once did, as I stopped using facebook long ago.

Sort:  
Loading...