Reality Contact is Not a Given

in #blog4 years ago

picnic-1208229_640.jpg

I find myself daydreaming more often these days. At the office, when am at home or out with family and friends.

The mind just seems to go wherever it wants and I can't help but let it. I think about stuff like love, money and death. It's probably not ideal to daydream on any of these things (especially the third) so am quite concerned about the frequency. Sometimes it takes others to snap my attention back to even realize what I'd been doing.

I once read a book called 'Healthy Personality' by Sydney m Jourard (it's a pretty old book). Amongst the opinions shared there is one I've been recalling all too often these days. It says that reality contact is not a given, but an achievement.

Life is hard, and harder still for some of us. I realize that some people use different avenues to channel out their stress/frustration and maybe that's what daydreaming does for me.

Having said that, it also isn't exactly fulfilling to look for escape routes from our realities.

One means of escape I've adopted over the last few months has been through running, as it helps sharpen my resolve rather then provide temporary succor. It still isn't enough though, and I keep fighting for my reality each day.

This was actually meant to be an advice type article, instead it feels like a sad story or something. Just note that am perfectly alright and would love to get input about your experience with zoning out.

Sort:  

I noted in high school that I zoned out whenever there was something I didn't know or felt I could get easily -my brain just avoided the difficulty. Avoidance is like junk food, feels better in the moment than the problems it will cause down the track.