Tokenizing photos from my garden?

in #blog3 years ago

As my gardening efforts sophisticate, I'm finding it more worthwhile to think about how to share information from it: not just pratical stuff like integrating urban detritus as useful material, but also, artistic stuff. There is to me a lot of beauty in the garden, and this year I have access to a much nicer camera, so I think I'll be able to present it across the Web a lot better than last year.

At the same time, my other interests are exposing me to the frontier world of NFTs: non-fungible tokens. Blockchain is commonly associated with its use as a fungible token: "money"-like coins that are all equivalent. But it also allows for the tokenization of other assets. (Think of it like cryptographically-secured certificates-of-authenticity.)

So, I'm wondering if I can't tokenize the photos that come out of my garden. This would let me monetize the work a bit more directly, which I'm okay with. Monetization is how colonials formalise relationships, and I think the relationship between my garden and colonials might be a little healthier if it were more formal.

I spend a fair bit of time on Hive, and so that's my inclination of a network to mint these tokens on. (And, immediately, I wonder if there wouldn't be a way to sell the phototokens at a lower price to those who can pay in the NaturalMedicine's LOTUS token.)

I've just submitted an application to mint tokens for the NFT Showroom, but so far it looks like they're focused on generated digital art, so maybe they're not the right platform for me. Either way… soon, expect to start seeing more photos from my garden, and it's very likely they're going to be tokenized, too.