#1 The Power of getting Dressed.

in #blog5 years ago

adult-beautiful-beauty-1187777.jpg

Who here is wearing clothing raise your hand if you don't I'm gonna assume you're sleeping and not naked.

I spent most of my life working on social and environmental justice issues so naturally when I graduated from college.
I started the clothing company this jump from politics to fashion came as a surprise to some people close to me but I really believe that what we wear matters see fashion is the second most polluting industry in the world one in six jobs globally are tied back to the industry in some capacity in the US less than 3% of the clothing.

We wear here is made here that's down from over 95 percent in the 1960s we've outsourced middle-class manufacturing jobs in search of cheap unregulated labor to deliver lower prices on consumer goods now fashion doesn't have a monopoly on labor abuses or toxins it just happens to have an abundance of them and it's also very personal we all wear clothes they impact how we think about ourselves and how others perceive us.

It's this vast scale and emotional connection that make fashion an important part of changing the world as we know it I want to start with four myths that are getting in the way of that change the first myth is that somehow we can separate ourselves from the clothing that we wear in 2013 a factory collapse in Bangladesh killed over a thousand workers it was one of the worst tragedies in garment history industry history and three of the four have happened in the last four years at the time.

I was working on social causes and I had a closet filled with stuff made by modern slaves and toxic conditions there was a disconnect between how I was trying to live and the way that I was getting dressed I felt guilty and that was healthy because it changed the way that I behaved but I don't think guilt is the key to changing this broken system.

I think we need to find things they were excited about and move toward them just like I can feel bad putting on something made in a sweatshop.

Thank you all!!!
[BE SUPPORTIVE]
BLOG CREATED BY - KARTIK (facinateplot)