You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Reawakening and Why Steemit is Fucking Flawed

in #blog6 years ago

Is it a circle jerk, or are people just nicer when there's money at stake? Much of the interaction on here (not counting bot spam) seems fairly in line with how people interact in person. If you're a dick in real life, you can lose your money, health, and career. So most people are nice in person and save their dickish behavior for online. Here there's money at stake so they act more like they would in real life.

A lot of the niceness is fake, just like how we act nice to coworkers and neighbors that we don't like. I think I prefer it to the anonymous venting and raging that is normal on most of the internet. That said, I still use Reddit to argue and vent. It's better to be disagreeable on a platform with no real-life consequences.

I agree that the trending pages are an embarrassment when trying to show the awesomeness of Steemit to others. How many pictures of a dude with a guitar do we really need on the front page?

Sort:  

I agree with what you're saying to a certain degree, although I'm not saying you should stop being nice and start being a dick. Rather I'm saying that if this platform is to truly flourish and real relationships are to be made we can't act like a homogenous soup not daring to be themselves. 🙏🏼

I am optimistic though, both with the overall progression of the platform and also I believe we will see less people with a guitar on the front page ✌🏼

Homogenous soup! Yeah that. Love it.

I've been reading down the comments and wondering if i would comment. I do less reading here than i used to. Why? Well i'm tired of hearing about quality content and being told what that is and isn't and what i can say and shouldn't say. I'm a terrible writer and often think that spending money buying steem here was a huge mistake.

I'm a painter and photographer. I hated being forced to write when i was in college! Haha... as usual i'm losing any coherent train of thought in my comment. My mind races off way ahead of my fingers and i'm just going to post this comment mainly because right now the censor in my mind is screeching delete- delete- delete- I hope my rambling makes a bit of sense and thank you for your story!

Ok? what just happened? There's a slide bar on my comment... Sorry. Have no idea why that happened. I think i better go before i get kicked out of steemit! ; )