Building a Prototype Down Draft Woodgas Reactor: A Sustainable Energy Experiment

in #blog4 months ago

Hi all,

I wanted to start sharing my plans to build a woodgas reactor, upfront I'm procrastinating and hope that by writing this down I'll motivate myself to get on with it! 🤣

This project is all about harnessing the power of woodgas to generate clean and sustainable energy, using locally sourced materials.

I've been wanting to do this for years, ever since watching a TV series called 'The Colony' (there is a more popular series with the same name)

Once I have a better idea of cost/production I'd like to use the energy to run a bitcoin miner but being able to be energy independent would be a massive plus on its own.

The initial prototype will be constructed using what I can find but should roughly consist of:

Imbert Downdraft reactor: Probably a barrel with a pipe and a grate

Single cyclone filter: Just to get some of the tar out, I believe this is a pipe and a jar/tin

Sawdust filter: To catch more tar and particles, probably another pipe filled with sawdust

Generator: I doubt I'll find one laying around so this will likely be my biggest purchase for the project

Plans after the prototype will likely vary

This image is roughly what I envisage for the reactor:

image.png

There is a YouTuber I follow called Robert Murray-Smith who has done an excellent series on the subject

which very closely covers what I want to do

I'd love to hear from anyone who has already built anything like it

Looking forward to learning how to weld! 🤣🤓

Stay Frugal!

Sort:  

Congratulations @frugal-fun! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 36000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024