Putting gasifier project on hold

in #blog3 months ago

Hi 👋

I previously posted about building a gasifier, I still really want to do this as I've been thinking about it for years! However I've identified a few issues which would make it less than ideal for bitcoin mining :(

1st the amount of work in feeding wood into the gasifier, it shouldn't be hard work but would need to be constantly monitored.

2nd, the noise. During the day no issue but pretty sure it would annoy the neighbours out of hours, even with a 'silent' generator. Not that I get on with my neighbours! 🤣

3rd is cost of batteries to cover out of hours use.

Basically by the time I account for cost to build and my time to run, even assuming the wood is free, I might as well put that money in HBD savings and pay for electric with that!

I'd still like to build the system (without batteries, or very few) just to have it for personal interest but will have to wait till I have hobby money available :( fingers crossed another 6 months or so.

Right now I need to concentrate my spending on things that earn or save me money.

There might be some room to build a different style gasifier and sell gas and charcoal instead of power, I'll have to look in to that. I think it would take less investment and be more profitable!

I'll keep you posted,
Stay Frugal