You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should the Death Penalty be Implemented World-Wide?

in #blog6 years ago

Hey, @ancientknowled3.

I guess I can't really quibble with what you've said here about the death penalty. I'd have to look at what's causing overcrowding and whether the death penalty would really have much effect on that, given that the death penalty is generally used in the case of murders/really violent crimes, but I do understand the repeat offenders part and agree, that in most cases, once you've committed a crime of that nature, it's easier to do it again.

I would say that if the crime committed reaches any reasonable standard for punishment by the death penalty, then yes, it should be available.

The question in the title asks if the death penalty should be implemented worldwide.

I'm not sure if that's a question any one of us can properly answer. I'd say it's up to each individual jurisdiction to determine what they're doing to with their really violent criminals. At the same time, if they decide against capital punishment, those effected by it have the right to hold that jurisdiction accountable for allowing someone go who is still a danger to society.

In the case of lifelong sentences, in my mind, the jurisdiction should find other means than tax dollars to house these people, unless a majority of the residents of that jurisdiction are in agreement with a prison sentence that could amount to a lifetime.

I'm not sure that one size fits all works in all cases, thus my answer. However, I believe there are times where the death penalty is the proper penalty, and I'd rather see justice carried out within a more reasonable length of time and not dragged out by procedural maneuvering, stays of execution, or endless, unwarranted petitioning.