Medical School Blog Post 1

in #blog7 years ago

So, I just about to finish my first year of medical school and I'm interested in starting a blog of what the life of a medical student is like. I know it sounds boring and there is definitely a lot of time spend in the library, but the lifestyle is definitely interesting and inspirational. My blog will also be talking about spearfishing because I live in South Florida and I've always wondered what it's like to be eaten by a shark.

It's currently midnight right now and i've been up since 630 am studying for a final in microbiology 2 I have on Monday. I'm exhausted, but I have my alarm set for 530 so I can go run the beach with my girlfriend before another hellish day in the library. I still have to get through the GastroIntestinal mycoses and parasites.... It's these times of the year when you REALLY start thinking about all the stuff you really would rather be doing that studying. For me, it's spearfishing (i'll post some pictures later). Honestly, I think I may have spent more time dreaming about how calming and blissful the water is whenever my dive partner/roommate/colleague and I launch our kayak in the morning than I did studying. The sound of the waves crashing, seagulls squawking, and the scrunching of the sand under your toes as the sun rises is hard to get out of your head when you've been staring at a computer screen through the morning and into the afternoon. However, I keep telling myself, "your patients won't care about how bad you want to be fishing! They'd NEED you to take care of them." That usually helps, but also reminding myself that if I don't pass the USMLE i'll be forced to fish for food because I'll be homeless and in $100k of debt!!

I'll post the pictures tomorrow and hopefully have time to write another post.
ACH