You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Trip to Hell's Gate, British Columbia, Canada

in #blog6 years ago

Digital cameras weren't around back then. I was off on my calculations. It was closer to 30 years. Sorry about that. Time flies.

I'm going to see if my mother got any pictures. She's always taking photos on vacations. There's a good chance she has a picture in an album somewhere. I keep thinking about whether we have a picture of it myself. Especially since the treehouse as it was is essentially gone now.

Like most things you take pictures of, I'm sure the photo is less impressive. It's hard to capture the real appearance of things that are tall and steep in photographs for some reason.

I remember taking pictures of steep ski hills thinking how impressive it would be to show people. When I actually had a good look at the pictures I didn't end up showing the pictures to anyone because it didn't look steep at all in the photo. In reality I was wondering how I was going to get down from where I was at.

My uncle had a story about riding out a storm in that treehouse. He was sleeping in it for some reason and woke up to a storm. He had to ride it out until the storm ended because it was too dangerous to try and come down. The treehouse was suspended between two trees from a cable and the ladder was on a third tree not attached to the treehouse. The storm was what was left of a hurricane that came up the coast from the USA. That would have been a wild night.

There were some good stories to go with the things we saw. I wish I had pictures to post from that trip.

Sort:  

Everything on Salt Spring is magical and makes for a great story and some great memories. Sounds like you need a trip back there for sure.