I killed wordpress - for my homepage

in #blog2 years ago

This weekend I decided to kill my wordprss homepage and built a static site using pelican.

Because of this I won't be posting as frequently, at least automatically, on here. I will try to remember to come back, or maybe find an app that will post automatically for me via an RSS feed, but for now I'm embracing web 1.0 and developing my static site.

I will jump back into web3 and #hive once my homepage hobby is more mature.

What do you think about the state of the web?

I saw this meme on twitter and it hit me hard.

I miss the online community of pre-2010 and the idea of homepages that you own and maybe even hosted on a beige computer under your desk, so I'm embracing it.

Last year I installed a RSS reader on my home server and added all the blogs I could find and really enjoyed spending more time there and much less time on big social.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeffmackinnon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!