Text is best

in #blog2 years ago

Its a long path

I flip back and forth between using Ms OneNote and notepad for buisness notes, and everytime that a sync to OneDrive breaks or it crashes I abandon it for notepad. Then I will be away from my computer and want to make a note/journal about something and realize there isn't a good way to just create a text file on iOS (or IPADOS) and open OneNote again.

I would be 100% plaintext based if there was a great app, but I really don't see that happening anytime soon.

Am I going back to plaintext for notes and such right now? Maybe for work, it will help enforce a boundary where I'm only working from a computer or laptop, but for other things I will stick with OneNote.

For my work reports I'm really trying to figure out a template for rst2pdf to make the reports look the way I want and when that happens it will reduce my dependance on Word drastically.

More here - https://jeffmackinnon.com/text-is-best.html