Things Running on my Computer When It's Late

in #blog3 years ago


pexels-cottonbro-4069291.jpg

As I write this there are just over 20 minutes left until the Crew-Dragon 2 livestream (for Space X's second astronaut flight).

It's late, I'm tired.

Instead of sticking to my usual schedule, I decided to take a detour and burn a couple of hours making chicken and waffles for dinner. I had that and watched His Dark Materials on HBO Max while I enjoyed it (great show, great books, read them as a child).

Now I find myself posting near midnight, the heaviness of sleep upon me and the awareness vaguely floating in the back of my mind that I have nothing to say or write but what I am actually thinking and doing at the moment.

I'm writing this, sure. But would you like to hear about what else is open on my rig (computer)?

Of the other tabs open in my browser, a few are the vestiges of my search for the perfect chicken and waffles recipe. One is on applying a dry brine chicken (the method I decided to go with as it's quicker), three are GitHub tabs for a new currency whose mainnet just launched, and a few are of the Udacity course I'm taking.

In the background, a client runs, busily building plots for the aforementioned currency, and a small notepad is open with notes on things I don't want to forget.

Of course, there's a picture open in the very background of me with my shirt off. I read in The Four Hour Body that having a picture like that can motivate you to make slightly better choices health-wise. Seems to be working.

Just about to turn the corner on 11:50.

I think I'll go watch that launch. Thanks for reading and be well.