Josie's Spontaneous Projects - Precious, Tiny Jar of Lemon Jam

in #blog6 months ago (edited)

I like lemons! It is known.


I like lemons in my water, I like lemons on my salmon. I like sour-sweet things just as much as sour-salty things. So this year on my birthday (way back in June) my family got me a nice little lemon tree.

Today I decided to harvest my two lemons. I didn't want them to just dry up and go to waste, so the spontaneous idea to make them into a jam took hold of me and brought a sense of experimental joy as if I were embarking on a sentimentally significant adventure of miniature proportions. It's hard to articulate those - oh, so me - feelings I get sometimes, so if you fail to grasp the energetical calibration of the nuanced feeling I'm trying to express, that's perfectly fine, just file it under - Just Josie Things.


Like, logically, I can't really explain why for me the significance of - These two lemons have been growing here with us the whole summer, so they're special! vs just some random lemons from a store (which I could have gotten MORE of and thus make more than just the tiniest of jam jars.) But there is a HUGE significance in that distinction. For a Josie.

So here goes two lemons made into a jam.


I opted for caramelization of the zest - a controversial artistic decision that was met with mixed reviews by the in-house culinary and art critics. The main criticism being that the jam loses its lemon scent. Filing this criticism under - noted, but keeping my artistic freedoms.


There's really nothing more in here than two lemons, some water, and sugar. Was contemplating maybe adding some cinnamon and nutmeg but evidently chickened out. I only had two lemons to begin with and as much as I love experimenting, I couldn't afford to take ALL the risks, just yet. Maybe next year! This time around I needed to prove to myself I could make a lemon jam in the first place. There will always be more time for additional experiments.



Look at that tiny cute jar! ^^ And the precious, magical Josie-made lemon jam is the perfect thing to put into such a lovely tiny jar. It just all fits together so perfectly. So if you ask me - this was an absolute raging success! This jar of lemon jam, now being recognized for being as priceless as it is, has already been designated for the Christmas dinner table - the highest honor among foods.


Thank you for stopping by and entertaining my musings!
Have a magical day and I'll catch you some other time.


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~

Sort:  

Just some "careless" thank you for what you have been scanning around.

I appreciate people for a very long way... and blockchain poweres just helps!

Hope you had a great powerful Christmas... and soon, we will get a fricking amazing new year! I hope you will get one at least.

Thank you for being around. 1999 love! 😎

Thank you, thank you! ^^
Happy Year of The Green Dragon! May it be prosperous and kind.
!HUG

You know I appreciate you immensely.
I try my best to keep an eye on Hive and what's new despite being busy IRL with renovating Grandma's house.

I'd also like to be able to help you more if I had clarity on HOW/with what. So if you find something I can be useful with and manage to communicate it in a way that I know what I should be doing, you know where/how to find me.


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~

Dear @forykw, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @josie2214.
(1/2)

Congratulations @josie2214! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the December edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023

Congratulations @josie2214! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the December edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023