First OSRS fire cape

in #blog4 years ago (edited)

How's it going guys? Thought I'd make a post about something pretty cool in my personal opinion, so I don't normally play the Old School version of Runescape,

In fact for the last two years I've had an account ongoing for Runescape 3 which is a Hardcore Ironman, the idea is to get that to max and then move on with my life, that series is going really well although I took a bit of a step back, not because of any particular reason I mean the game's great imo (don't have to worry about MTX I suppose!) and the grind is fun but the grind has now gotten to that stage of becoming really long, I mean I'm base 80 in all my stats except invention which is the outlier as far as the skills go, so I could basically grind now to 99 individually in the skills if I was to just no life that, which is a great position to be in and it's great that the account has really progressed to that stage, however not so great considering the series would absolutely grind to a halt considering for the past while all I've done is make target focused goals. Now what I mean by this is that I was going more so for gear upgrades, some boss kills and some other misc. achievements, so grinding one thing just seems like it'd knock my momentum for my series out the way.

This is where I segway back into talking about OSRS! Now for multiple reasons or another I did have a bit of a large struggle getting into OSRS (which I'll get into in a video I am planning so anyone curious as to that stay tuned, it may not be the greatest to listen to initially, I can imagine that there may be some animosity and it sound like I'm just giving the game stick but stick with it, I need to go through the exact motions of how it felt initially to show how the resolve came to be) but recently the game has been absolutely great, I mean the things I've done have felt fun and not like a waste of time like it had been prior. the goals ended up recently being all Easy and Medium diaries completed (Jagex why you gotta rename diaries in RS3? Achievements? Just call them diaries, there's people who give me the ??? in game when I call them that and that's just insane!) and now this which, I will admit was spurred on by a close friend of mine in game. His achievement on his account was that he completed the Fight Caves and got his Fire Cape at 75 Ranged, so huge props to him! I was extremely jealous of his achievement as he's always been much more experienced with the game, I mean I basically messed around as a kid so the nostalgia wasn't what people see nowadays of "oh I did this for money back in the day" because I was just a stupid kid who maybe occasionally cut logs in Seers Village. So for him to say this in a game he's played probably only a little more OSRS than me, I mean he does have around 100 total levels on me, was very exciting and I went for it immediately.

Now unfortunately for me I am a poor noob and he is not so when he did it with 75 Ranged and a Blowpipe I had just absolutely no way of matching that, like I don't know how much slayer he does but he claims all his cash is from slayer, and I mean until rather recently I've not made anything from slayer (shoutouts to Wyrms) so this was just foreign to me, although I did know of Blast Furnace so that's all I've really had money wise. Anyway enough of the whining, I don't have the cash for the Blowpipe or 75 Ranged, in fact when I first attempted I had only 70, ending now on an absolutely MASSIVE 71, shoutouts to bolts not hitting the Mage dude.

Going in with Rune Crossbow and Broad Bolts was pretty foreign also, I mean seeing the Rune Crossbow used to any capacity surprised me because in RS3 the lower tiered weapons just absolutely suck and have basically no useful function, at all. In fact I wouldn't be lying if I said that apart from Bronze and Iron, none of the upgrades from Steel to Rune in RS3 actually feel at all useful. Now the reason is because the combat system works more so for late game content where you really do see a difference and I will admit that, as much as I do like whining, it's just funny to see these initial items have such low impact.

Anyway, the cape is now mine, after the third go! The first two I panicked and I don't know why but I guess anything new will do that. This is a great upgrade for the account and I really do look forward to continuing this account on, now I'm going to mention it in an upcoming ramble video (where likely it'll be a lot more of this but I can imagine I would expand upon a lot of what is being said here) that I want to make an Old School series, now I do want it to follow my main account which, as it stands is at the modest level of around 1500 total, so that makes for a good area still to make videos on, I mean a shame I can never start series from the beginning, shoutout to Hardcore to Max starting at literally the same total level but I mean I see no better time, the upcoming events on my Harcore Ironman are going to be pretty long, but also really tedious so I do believe that having this series ongoing at the same time will make those massive grinds a lot more bearable as I don't need to bore myself to death with hours of woodcutting, divination, mining and other pretty boring goals (runecrafting would get a mention too but gotta give that one to my boy OSRS).

Thanks all if you read it this far, you're all absolutely amazing and I hope to hear from you all, if you're at all interested please feel free to leave a comment and discuss any of what was said here, I'm really happy to respond to anyone, but please no massive RS3 vs OSRS debates, I just don't feel they contribute much, like I compared them of course for this post and I will be to some brief extent in my new video but I feel most comments are just pure animosity to the other side so don't do that and if that's you maybe just stick to what you enjoy :) image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @karpnado! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @karpnado! You received a personal award!

Did you downvote Steemit's posts because its owner converted it into a sockpuppets factory? OK, you deserve that badge!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!