Mom and Dad

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Three weeks into the road trip I realize fully why I am here. My mother passed away three years ago. My kids are grown, and my hair has turned as white as snow. I have never before come face to face with my own mortality like this, and I'm struggling to find something meaningful to say.
dz3orgn3kn.jpg
A trip to the cemetery to visit Mom.
s66oh3ge04.jpg
My father turns ninety next month.

It's been a difficult and emotional trip. The fires and smoke, my own illness... nothing has gone the way I expected, and I have done very little photography along the way. I'm searching today to find something to show you.

lhcz2uhzqh.jpg
Sunrise in Wasaga Beach, Ontario.

0dtzwsd8p8.jpg
My wonderful wife Cathy, and our daughter Jenny.

45u4eqopqn.jpg
The Humber River, where I used to play as a child.

There have been some good times along the way, it's not all sadness and grief. Here's a rare shot of yours truly posing in front of a "hedge" at my friend's house.
5ztr5xkg4d.jpg

I have spent very little time online while travelling. My family and friends are more important to me.

hwpzzwdfz6.jpg

Tomorrow morning we begin the long trip home. We still have a couple of friends and family members to see, and our first stop will be back at the beach...

tybuiwb842.jpg
...then perhaps back to the cottage. By the weekend we will start the 4,000 km trip home.

I hope everyone is doing well. I'll be in touch soon!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Lovely photos. Sounds like a fulfilling journey, if rather melancholy. I’m sorry you’ve been unwell and hope your fast recovering.

Travel is the best medicine

Yes, that's very true.

I have spent very little time online while travelling. My family and friends are more important to me.

I'm so happy to hear that @keithboone.

I have never before come face to face with my own mortality like this, and I'm struggling to find some meaningful to say.

I've been in a similar position this year and know exactly what you mean.

Your dad looks amazing at 89 so maybe your mortality thoughts are a little premature! 😁

Glad you're going back to the beach. It looks wonderful.

I hope you have a more relaxing trip home than you had getting there.

Safe travels! 💙

Thank you Gillian, it will be good to be back on the road in a few hours.

@keithboone Its the hard reality that nobody is permanent in this world.Hope you had wonderful trip.keep sharing.

Thank you - yes, that is a very hard reality!

wow 90!? what's his secret?

Just water and clean living... apparently :)

Thanks for sharing lovely photos of your family. My first thought was how wonderful to still have your Dad. I hope your trip back will give you more time for your excellent photography and let the beauty you see lift your spirits. Keep well dear Keith. 😊 🤗

It is very wonderful to still have Dad. I wish we didn't live so far away. Ontario is where my relatives and many old friends live, but I still love Vancouver Island. Thank you :)

Sorry to hear you have been ill. Get well soon. Do have a safe trip home.

Sorry to hear you
Have been ill. Get well soon. Do
Have a safe trip home.

                 - cecicastor


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thanks very much, we're loading up the car again! I hope to be back online in a day or two :)

It is great to hear from you @keithboone and even though things have not gone as expected, it is good to know that this trip has given you quality time with the people who mean the world to you.

That is a very beautiful photo of Cathy and Jenny isn't it? They are so much alike. I really like the words on your parents grave stones because I truly believe them. I hope your drive home will be enjoyable and as relaxed as possible. (U & R )

Thank you, Trudee! We did have a lovely time with friends and family. I'll be glad to be home.

Well worth the trip, I'm sure Keith and I do hope you are feeling a lot better.

I will be happy when you are safely back home! Good to see photos of you all. Hope the trip home is better than the drive out was!

Hi Melinda, we're back on the road. Stopped for the night in Sault Ste Marie, Ontario

Everyone becomes a little melancholy at times. I think when good things come to an end, your trip, and we reflect......many mixed feelings, relecting on time spent with loved ones.

Getting home and back into a routine often sets us back on track. Then we have the wonderful memories to keep us there.

I have been away and missed your trip. I just got back two days ago and like you, spend little to no time online when traveling and visiting. As it should be, you know? Like having a cell phone in your face all the time.

Oh, staring mortality in the face becomes so real after losing a parent and suddenly, we bubble up to the top of the chain. Thankfully, Grannie outlived my parents, so there is that. I am getting to the top quicker than I want.

Just what am I afraid of? The unknown? Where is my faith? Ugh...

Your Cathy is beautiful as is your daughter. How much alike they look and I am so glad you took the time and energy to go home, even with the fires. It looked like a wonderful trip and I can just imagine you swimming in the waterhole there. Thank you for sharing snippets of your trip with us. I am sorry you were sick, but, so glad that you had a wonderful time and you got to spend time with your loved ones.

Your dad looks amazing, btw.

See you soon, my friend. I miss your writing! :)

They are moments in life when is time to pause and revalue our past and the future. It can be sad or even scarry and always very emotional. Nevertheless, it is always easier for people who are surrounded by loving family and friends. You are fortunate to have them Keith and that is the most important gift one can have. Sending lots of hugs 💚😊💚

Wow, had not known of your loss! It is okay to grief and want to spend time with your loved ones in the end that’s what truly matters. ❤️ Great shots by the way.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Genuine, well written and powerful. Thanks for sharing your journey with us all @keithboone

Thank you so much for the lovely comment, I'm happy you liked liked my post.