Soggy Sunday Blog

in #blog5 years ago

Is it Sunday already?!

Chris has been home on days off and we've been busy with all kinds of stuff.

He's job hunting, trying to find something closer to home. The traveling and being away from each other is starting to wear thin.

He applied for everything he could find and already started hearing back from companies for interviews. Fingers crossed that something works out. 🤞

Meanwhile, the kids wanted daddy to paint their rooms for them. So they got to pick the colors and even helped paint a little bit. River chose purple and pink for her room and simon chose blue and green. They both are thrilled with how it came out. Daddy even got them some wall decals in their favorite Disney characters. I think that was their favorite part. ☺

My succulents have been getting absolutely soaked because I left them out front and it hasn't stopped raining in 10 days. Oops.

Thankfully, they all survived so I moved them in the garage to avoid further over watering. 😏

But my favorite plant I noticed had the most perfect drop of water captured in the center of it. I tried to get a good pic of it, but it's not as clear as it looked in person. 🤷‍♀️

Last night we had an auction and dinner to attend for the kids preschool.
Every year they do this as their main fundraiser for a majority of the school's funding. It's how they manage to keep the tuition low. Basically, they ask the parents to get local businesses to donate things that then are auctioned off at the dinner and the school gets the money raised from the items.

But they accepted all kinds of things as donations. Lots of handmade stuff that was really cool to see.

The kids teacher made these amazingly soft fleece blankets with hand stitched satin ribbon on the edges and the name of the school with the year stitched on the ribbon.
There were 2 of them, one space themed and the other pink and purple with butterflies. Had to have them...

It became a bidding war with another mom, but I was determined. $185 later and they mine. 😲😄

I baked 2 dozen stuffed cookies to donate and then bought some cute cake stands to put them in. Here they were. Cute huh?

These were fought over a bit and ended up netting the school over $100 for both of them. That was a nice to see! 😍

There was another person who donated potted succulents that were absolutely stunning! If I had been looking to grow my collection I'd have been all over that.

Seeing everyone's handiwork being so appreciated and for a good cause has inspired me a bit. I'm not sure what direction it's gonna take me yet, but it'll be fun figuring it out. 😊

All I know is this week has gone by way too fast and I hate that chris has to leave for work again tomorrow. I hope that a job opportunity here locally will happen soon and we won't have to do this much longer.

Well, that's what's happening with us steem fam. Thanks for reading. ✌💗

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wow! I'm glad the school was able to raise so much money, that's good. I hope Chris finds a more local job soon!

Your stuffed cookies are the bomb, I am thrilled they got so much $$ for the school! LOL to your bid war with the other Mama, poor thing didn't stand a chance!

Putting out so many good vibes for Chris to get a great job close by. Your family deserves it. I'm glad the succulents survived (just saw your most recent post), and the shot of the water droplet was fantastic, though I know it is always better irl <3<3<3 Was perfect for me. xo

Aww shucks. Thanks siStar! 😊💗💗

Posted using Partiko Android

This post is supported by $1.79 @tipU upvote funded by @lyndsaybowes :)
@tipU voting service: get instant upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 116 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig