Toolik Field Station, Alaska. Summer 2017

in #blog7 years ago

tfs-aerial-keeper-6-15.jpg
Toolik Field Station


Tomorrow I fly from Logan Airport in Boston to Fairbanks Airport in Alaska.

From fairbanks, I drive over 9 hours to reach the remote Toolik Field Station on Toolik Lake, above the Brooks Mountain Range in the Arctic Circle, Alaska.

I am spending my summer sampling the pristine lakes around the area as part of a Long-Term Ecological Research (LTER) project through Marine Biological Laboratory.

From June 8 Until August 23 I will be living in a trailer at Toolik Field Station. I am planning to document the trip with some amateur iPhone photography and hope to share on this site throughout my time at the field station. I will be sharing about the experience of living in the arctic, working as a field research chemist, and hopefully there will be some stunning shots along the way.


arctic-ak-2.jpg
Source


As I said, I've never been to Alaska before, and certainly not the arctic. I welcome folks to share any experiences they have exploring Alaska or the Arctic Circle. I have so much to experience in such a short amount of time, so I hope that I am able to keep blogging throughout.

Cheers