Wandering in Waianae with the Tullis Terror Twins

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

It's been a hell of a week for me. My phone broke and my car is well on it's way and I just found out that the IRS is "reviewing" my tax returns, whatever that means to them. What it means to me is that the sorely needed cash injection I have been awaiting is not coming and I am stuck when it comes to buying inventory for my business. Basically my "plan A" has been blown to shit for at least a little while, so I am back to hustling to make things happen for our little family.

Amazon has been going pretty well lately, but its just not enough to survive, so we have been selling banana bread every chance we get and it is gaining a little bit of a reputation. It may sound lame, but now that the kids are a little older they have learned focus and we are making extra money every weekend now.

I told them I would take them to the waterpark on saturday, but the weather was bad, so as you can imagine, by Sunday, everyone was a little bummed. I decided to make a batch of bread and take them out to Makaha beach to sell it and then I promised that I would swing by Pokai Bay on the way home so they could swim.

If you know me from facebook, you know that my kids are only a year and a half apart and that I have been a single mom from jump. It has not always been an easy ride and over the years, I came up with a very fitting name for these two: "The Tullis Terror Twins." They have outnumbered me pretty much from day one, so I often feel as if I look like the Tasmanian Devil in public, you know with two kids running in a dusty circle around me at all times lol

IMG_6025.jpg
"Terror twins" at Makaha Beach about to sell some bread. Kaliya Brielle on left and Jonah on right.

When we got to Makaha, it was still very overcast and it looked like the sunset was gonna be lame, but there were little waves, which means PEOPLE ON THE BEACH! This place has been a goldmine for us lately. We used to hit three or four beaches up the coast and maybe sell ten breads, but now we go to Makaha and within a half an hour the kids usually sell out.

IMG_6071.jpg

We were not the only ones selling at the beach yesterday, the shave ice guy was there as well.
IMG_6072.jpg

Random car with Reggae towel shot. This is country lol
IMG_6073.jpg

The kids doing their thing. I love watching them sell. They have come so far in the last few months with their work ethic.
IMG_6074.jpg

Rewarded for their hard work with shave ice!!
IMG_6086.jpg

Then we went over to a second beach called Pokai Bay which is closer to our home and A LOT less famous. This is where people around here take their kids to swim because it is calm and you can easily keep an eye on them from the beach.
IMG_6082.jpg

Happy selfie!
IMG_6089.jpg

Right before dark, the sun came out and we were able to bask in a beautiful sunset <3 <3
IMG_6095.jpg

Jojo found an old 40 filled with sand and turned it into a stand on which to practice yoga poses. They both got into it and we got some great pictures.
IMG_6109.jpg

IMG_6113.jpg

IMG_6118.jpg

IMG_6126.jpg
The day ended on a high note. We are now all properly grounded and ready to take on this week. Hope everyone is having a great Monday!

Sort:  

where you live is breathtaking and your children are adorable.

Thank you. I am constantly inspired by both <3

You live in a beautiful place, and have beautiful kids! <3

Thank you <3 Like they say, Lucky to live Hawaii!

Something about your kids' postures in these beautiful photos reminds me of a Tarot card.

posture.png

I wish you had gotten a prompt refund from the IRS, but I'm glad your banana bread and the Tullis Terrors' work ethic were able to fill the breach for a bit. A high note indeed!

Gotta google the meaning of this one... We are def out making it happen. I am bummed bc easy street is closed for a little while, but it will open soon and I will have a renewed focus. Got really burned out last year and wasn't really feeling any of it, but now I am ready to hit the ground running. I am surprised and elated at the love this post has received so I will def be doing more hilighting our adventures!

Wow Lindsey, I had no clue about the beauty that you all live in...just breathtaking!!

You are an AMAZING Mother, I am so proud of you and the TerrorTwins! What an awesome family you are, working together for your own betterment, you are teaching them so much about self-worth, about LIFE <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 I love your values Sis!

Resteemed with Love. I want everyone to see your Family and be inspired!!

Thank you Lyndsay! I really appreciate the kind words. I am certainly trying to be the best role model I can be and instill within these kids the idea that you can make something out of nothing. As you well know, we are in the business of raising future revolutionaries and they have to be ready to continue our fight. Thank you for the resteem <3

WOW what a beautiful place you live! The terror twins are adorable. But I love the tasmanian devil image in my mind. 😂

Thank you! Yes! It is easy to lose sight of how beautiful it is here when caught up in the day to day. They truly embody that description lol, they get me so dizzy sometimes lol