You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Years Of Blogging On The Blockchain

in #blog3 years ago

Congratulations on your fifth Hivesary Eric, that is an amazing achievement having stayed through the good and the bad times!
Thank you for sharing your visit and for introducing us to some of your family. The sadness of losing your Dad is still visible looking at your Mom, but I'm sure she must have really enjoyed having you there to share in her birthday celebrations! Thank goodness you were able to have a get together now that you're all vaccinated!
You are one precious presence here on Hive, thank you so much for always encouraging one and all!

Sort:  

Thank you, thank you! We've had some really tough times but also some moments of euphoria to offset them. I remember the winter of 2017 most vividly. We were coming off the highs of SteemFest2 and the bottom just seemed to drop out of the price. We lost a LOT of good content creators during that time. Yes, my Mom is still figuring out her path forward after losing my Dad. They were together over fifty years. She's doing incredibly well though considering all she's been through. We tried our best to make her birthday extra special this year. I really appreciate your presence here as well my friend. You've grown to be an extremely powerful and valuable voice here on Hive!

I do believe that generation were made of stronger material; just looking at my Mom who's so determined to walk again! Losing a partner who's been by one's side for over 50 years must be an extremely difficult adjustment.
I joined on 13 July 2017 so will soon be celebrating my 4th year; I was all starry eyed about being able to write so did not focus too much on the crypto side.
Thank you for always being there for me, I really treasure your friendship!

They are, without a doubt, stronger. I think a certain amount of struggle was expected by them. Technology has made everything so convenient now and people rarely need to defer gratification in any circumstance.

You joined at a great time. The excitement of SF2 was building and so were the token values. There was still a very bright spark of the original mission of the platform as well.

You're very welcome and likewise to you! I'm very happy to have met you!