Garden Update On The Homestead

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Doesn’t it feel so great when those lovely seedlings you’ve been nurturing start to really get going? I’m so excited to see the garden coming to life, and am really looking forward to having fresh veggies right out of the garden...there really is nothing better.



It’s a beautiful rainy day here, which gave me the perfect opportunity to grab my camera and get some shots of the progress in the garden. There is something about the lighting on a rainy day that makes everything just look stunning...



EEE1CEEE-4BC5-4893-92D8-6956061332A2.jpeg
The first year strawberries are looking lovely


80400358-C465-4104-93D9-0E2D8A6D361D.jpeg
The greens are really coming in nicely, we should be able to start harvesting in the next week or so.


1F8D423E-BAC8-411B-9BCE-0CBAFCA9F9C7.jpeg
The zucchini looks a bit behind this year but I think that it will really start taking off soon.


465FF678-311A-49DA-A769-CF312AA980F3.jpeg
The broccoli is finally making an appearance, better late than never...


57E74D61-C502-4905-9095-F14201CCF3D8.jpeg
This is the oregano we started last year from seed, it is doing so well! We have already been incorporating it quite a bit into our meals and I look forward to drying some as well to use through the winter.


48C26C05-78F3-4E35-BEF5-1494557EFAFE.jpeg
Part of our little herb patch..


1D3C972F-1264-4010-A49A-3C68A7567077.jpeg
The sweet corn is really enjoying the new watering system...ignore the close planting, tiny humans were involved...


F5059373-3823-428E-A6C1-0C27D7380F1F.jpeg
Oh the trees! These are our apple trees we planted last year...


63C96BE0-6D2B-4FBF-A424-40E9946BF763.jpeg
...and the cherry trees we just planted a few weeks ago.



As you can see things are coming along! Being at our elevation (6,000ft), our season is a bit short. We kept that in mind this year and are prepared to cover certain rows when needed, helping to extend our season a bit. We also just finished a simple watering solution that has really made my life easier, which is always nice.



How are things going in your garden?



Thank you for reading,


Happy Homesteading.



629651C6-BA94-4F1E-BD78-8F22230663EA.jpeg



All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thank you.

Sort:  

It's great to have *lil humans' help out with gardening, isn't it? When planting, my younger one loves to fill the holes with water and then after help cover the roots with dirt. The older ones enjoy watering the flowers and the plants already planted. My son enjoys picking the tomatoes and beans when they are ready for picking so he can eat it.

Right now our tomatoes and peas are flowering, the zucchini's too, what's left of them. Carrots and onions are starting to poke through as well and so is the pumpkin. Things are just doing well in my garden.

Your trees and everything you are showing here look quite healthy! A lot of work put into eh.

Haha! Yes! Man the make every activity a little bit more exciting. We planted some sunflowers that they were suppose to plant each one with some room in between... I have this little 6inch square that has 20+ sunflowers coming up 😂.

Oh that sounds lovely! You will be getting some goodies in no time then. My son does the same.. poor tomatoes don’t make it to the house haha. Some of my fondest memories growing up were hanging out in the garden eating tomatoes off the vine... nice that they get to have those same experiences.

Thank you! Everything is looking pretty good a this point, green and beautiful! So much work, but so worth it... I bet you feel the same 😉.

I agree with you. I never had that as a child but I think it is wonderful to provide my children with great, healthy food and those memories they get to keep as well as learning to garden too :)

Amazing times these are for kids. Have a wonderful day!

Awesome thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the support ❤️

In some years those cherry trees will be glorious. We have had 108 rainy days in 2018, today I welcomed a little bit of sun finally, but I agree there is a kind of romantic beauty on rainy days and I love the smell of damp soil.
Hmmm I fancy strawberries now... I dream of a day I will have my own orchard.
And yes naking things "grow" is a beautiful feeling. Thanks for sharing your garden update!

I am so excited for that day, when the trees are big and lush and the garden feels more like a good forest than just a garden... I envision many picnics happening there.

I’m with you, the smell when it rains is amazing... but I also need some sun in my life haha. There is something magical about the forest during a rainstorm though, you capture it well in your photos.

Thank you ❤️

Yesterday we had sun, first in along while, we went to feedsome "deer" friends that already recognize is. It is incredible how much I missed some light and warmth. But when it gets too dey and too hot I long for the rainy days. Hope warmth stays a little while. I fancy river and pond baths.
The smell in wet soil is peoduced by an organic compound called geosmin so if there weren't life in it would not smell. There is even a name for the pleasant smell and flavour of the earth: petrichor
Pd. That cherry tree will be glorious.

Wow so many type of plants. I wish I had the land to grow more in my backyard.

Yes, we are still new to having so much area to work with... it’s exciting. The thought that with a few years of hard work this garden should be producing more than we can eat. We still need to figure out how to raise worms in our cold climate though, we’ll get there haha.

Your garden looks like it's doing really well now. The corn seems to be growing quite well.
The zucchini plants might be small now, but once they get going, you'll have lots of zucchinis! :-)

Thank you! So true! They really take off when they get going. 🙌🏼

Great progress, keep inspiring and planting - we’ve just removed a lot from of branches that were blocking sun light from our vegetables and a flowery area, the flowers and small apple tree look a lot happier and brighter.

Thank you! Oh that sounds lovely! Our garden gets a ton of southern light and I’m actually hoping that the fruit trees make little areas of shade for those plants that seem to need a break from our intense levels of sunlight. The corn is loving it though haha.

Thanks so much for sharing your garden update ❤️

Yes very different climates, your welcome and thank you.

I am loving seeing how your garden progresses in its second year! That little strawberry flower was lovely!

Thank you! Man it’s good to see some progress, makes all the hard work worth it you know?

The flower was so pretty to me... I actually wondered if I needed to prune it though since the plant was still too small 😬... first year with strawberries, I’m gonna need to pull out my books for a refresher course.

Just heard you speak on mspwaves @llfarms. I think doing the homesteading "thing" also has a lot to do with people starting to long for a simpler life which is a very good thing. (My last Love & marriage post was about that) How old are your children now? Are you homeschooling?

This is great! You got me all excited with your beautiful photos so I made a post to answer to your question: “How are things going in your garden?”
I am amazed by the simple fact that although our gardens are half the globe apart, a lot of plants are practically the same!
PS I hope that you do not consider my link as spam. If you do, please let me know and I will remove it.

Oh I loved it! Not spam at all!!

It is kind of amazing to see the similarities isn’t it? Plants so interesting and you captured that beautifully in your photos. Can’t wait to see those pomegranates mature!

Thanks for this! ❤️

Great garden. I'd like one some day. My plants here in the city seem to die too soon, though...

Thank you! We tried to do some plants in containers before we moved onto our homestead last year and it was really hit or miss. I think they need a bit more love grown that way or more nutrients. You should look into small scale hydroponic/aquaponics though! I have seen quite a few folks living in cities that were able to successfully grow food on their balconies using those techniques. Even growing some greens is a great way to save money and add some homegrown goodies to the table.

Thanks so much for your comment!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Normok from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.