Homesteading Means Investing In The Future

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

890EF0F6-F366-4DF5-AACA-4C900288DBD0.jpeg



Today as we continue planting our garden, I can’t help but think about how so much of what we do here on the homestead is truly an investment. Nothing has instant gratification and it takes months or even years in some cases to see a return on that investment. Whether it be planting fruit trees, raising chickens or even the constant improvements that we do... it’s all an investment for the future.



AA90C6A4-0B87-4187-80D5-D80818FE63CA.jpeg



Take these lovely little asparagus crowns, they may look like some sort of weird alien creature right now... but in a few years they will be helping to feed our family.



4EFD60DC-2F14-4873-9021-0E09233BB3EB.jpeg



Yes, you read that correctly, it will take years before we see a return from the work we are doing today... but everything worth having is never easy after all.



So we dig our trench, plant our asparagus and anxiously await the day when it will flourish in our garden..



2BB625B1-339D-46FE-A02E-11CBBDC6DC01.jpeg


That doesn’t mean that we can’t have anything that we get instant gratification from though! While we wait for the asparagus we can plant all sorts of herbs and greens in the same location that we will be able to enjoy in a few weeks, it’s all about balance.



4E82FE7D-6EE5-402A-B3B1-06EF878F1CA6.jpeg



Plus when you are constantly investing in the future, you are always reaping the benefits on your past investments... like the oregano we grew from seed last year that is coming in strong now..






I find that the analogies I learn in the garden always apply to life as well. If we are only focused on instant gratification, we are missing out on some pretty amazing things....



00B45E0F-442A-4EF2-B1FD-5A2B6FABE0E7.jpeg




Sort:  

Things are looking great! We have a little garden left to put in hopefully it will be dry enough this afternoon.

Thank you! We have been getting so much rain, but man it’s so green and beautifull. We still have our tomatoes, peppers and other less cold tolerant plants started in small pots that we will transplant the first of June.

Yes. it is an investment in hard work and dedication. I have learned no matter how fast you want to go or want it to go, it just will take time. I have found that patience is the key.

I agree 100%! Practicing patience and enjoying the process is such an important part of it. The rewards are so worth the wait!

You are 100% right about investing in the future. Preparing and feeding your soil will pay dividends in the years to come. I just planted some Greek oregano myself as I heard it can repel many harmful insects, and of course goes great in a lot of dishes. Looking great, following you now for more garden updates :)

Yes, you said that so perfectly! Oregano is so beneficial in so many ways, it’s one of my favorites. Thank you so much! I was so happy to find you as well!

I don't like this payout being so low, I will bring some minions.

<3

that oregano plant looks soo healthy and chunky! Like puppy ears :)
I also love the last photo - really cute, and i love the fact that your children are growing in such healthy environment... reminds me of when i was little, growing on the farm.

Oh my goodness it does!!! I’ll never look at an oregano leaf the same way again haha. Thank you so much! That’s really the goal for us, is to give the opportunity to grow up in this environment while also building something for their future. ❤️

I wish one day I will be able to live this way, planting my food, giving my animals for what they give to me... :) beautiful post.
You end up with an egg and no chick pick! hmm such a teaser ;-) aww LOL

Thank you so much! This has been a dream of ours for awhile and we are enjoying every minute of it.

I swear I have a chick post coming for you this week 😘

Haha whenever I will be happy to stumble upon it... I was just joking.

One day I hope to be able to change my way of living...
It is beautiful 😍

Those long rows in the first picture, what are you planting there?

Hey Amber! Funny enough I just made a garden layout post that explains exactly what I have where and why;

https://steemit.com/gardening/@llfarms/garden-layout-or-offgrid-online-contest

The asparagus crowns are looking like teeth, but also like dry sweet corn. I have never sees them before so sorry if that sounds weird.

We do not have such a large garden nevertheless we planted some berries and peach tree now few years ago and every year we are excited to see little fruits but of course we planted it not for fruits because there are only max may be 6-8 on our little tree, but we were surprise that peach can grow in Germany.

Last year in order to keep our flowerbed tidy from weed we decided to use thyme and this year they are looking much stronger and it is so aromatic scent spread in that corner of garden.

I hope you will enjoy working in fresh air and good luck with your planting :)

Thank you! Thyme is one of my favorite herbs, the scent is just so beautiful.

We are also trying to grow berries and fruit trees this year and am surprised what will grow in our climate. We have a few years before we see much fruit off of them but it’s so exciting to think about.

Our garden is still very new so we are constantly working to improve it and want to add many medicinal and culinary herbs as well go. They are just so beneficial for so many things.

Thank you so much ❤️

this would be like a dream come true, lots of hard work but moving in the dirction of creating a paradise in my opinion. I am so far away from my hard working creating something like what I hope you accomplish. Checking you out on @ankapolo blog and now you're on mine for upvote when vp goes up!! Thanks for sharing, everything looks so amazing and I will follow your progress

Thank you so much!

Yes you’re so right, these things don’t happen overnight and it has taken us years to get even here. We are constantly working towards the dream of having everything we need right out our door. We have a long way to go but are so excited for how far we have come.

I’m so glad you found us! I should have stalked you on steemit forever ago. We need to get a Rondon panel going again 😉

we have talked on msp before, i think i remember your first night on there. it seems crazy we work so hard to build our place here in the city and for what?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Normok from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice way to live! This is very rewarding!

All the best!