How To Make Your Own Beauty Products - Part One | 6 Step By Step Tutorials

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

0592887A-1753-46FB-B484-BE64CB78AF6E.jpeg



Over the last few months I have been sharing some of my recipes I use to make my own products, rather than buying them. I realized it’s hard to find them all when you need one, (have you tried scrolling through someone’s blog looking for that one post you saw previously?!) so I thought I would put them all in one location for convenience.


I do have some more tutorials I will be sharing soon, and if I ever get the courage, plan to do some videos as well... so stay tuned!


lance-9 divider odrau steem

6 Beauty Product Tutorials With Step By Step Instructions



lance-9 divider odrau steem


Herbal Infused Deodorant


Deodorant is one of those products that not many people think about making themselves, but in all reality, it’s one of the simplest items to make yourself and also has the biggest positive health impacts. Our body’s are our biggest organ after all, and what we put on it matters. This recipe combines soothing herbs and moisturizing oils with the detoxing power of clays to give you a better option than then the store bought one you have been wasting your money on.


I go more in-depth into the health concerns with conventional deodorant in this post


The idea in this recipe is to combine some of the best odor fighting herbs and essential oils with moisturizing Shea Butter to make a gentle, natural deodorant, that actually works.



You can find the full photo tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem



Raw Honey Infused Lip Balm


Making your own lip balm is one of the absolutely easiest things to do, it consists of a few simple ingredients (which are completely customizable) and only takes a few minutes to whip up. Plus, it saves you a ton of money... I can make 20 lip balms of this recipe for the same price it use to cost me to purchase one from the store. I also know that the ingredients are pure and safe, unlike the store bought version.


The basic recipe for making your own lip balm is simply an oil (Coconut, Grapeseed, Almond, Argan etc.) and/or butter (Cocoa, Mango, Shea, etc), and beeswax. While that is all you technically need, you can really take the recipe to another level by adding in a few additional ingredients. I personally love the addition of raw honey, it has amazing moisturizing qualities, as well as having high levels of antioxidants, which help heal dry chapped lips.



You can find the full photo tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Herbal Bath Bombs


Bath bombs are not something I use everyday, but they are a nice treat and make stunning gifts. The problem is the are extremely expensive to buy and are full of toxic ingredients that I try to stay away from. When I first went out looking for tutorials on how to make them, I didn’t have much luck... they just never worked. One thing they always seemed to be missing was the important technique behind making them and the texture needed. So, after some experimenting I came up with a tried and true recipe with only pure ingredients and make the instructions super detailed, that way anyone can make them.


Bath Bombs are extremely popular right now... and I mean, what is there not to love about them? They take a relaxing bath and elevate it to an at-home spa night. Unfortunately, they are usually full of artificial fragrances, artificial colors and preservatives... not something I want my body to absorb during my bath... how about you?


Luckily, we can do better. By taking the base recipe of a bath bomb and adding in Nourishing Organic Coconut Oil, Healing Herbs of Lavender and Chamomile, Mineral Rich Clay and by using Organic Essential Oils to add a light scent, we can make a Bath Bomb that is actually good for you.


You can find the full tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Herbal Facial Toner


Facial toner is used after cleansing to help soothe skin. To be perfectly honest it’s not an item I used before making my own, but now I love it. I was asked to make it on request by someone who had been struggling with their acne prone skin for awhile and had tried everything on the market. As with everything I make, I always go to herbs first, they are so packed full of health benefits that they are the perfect addition to any recipe. After coming up with a recipe that not only helps to fight acne, but it also helps to regulate sebum oil production... preventing it from occurring in the first place. This isn’t only for acne prone skin though, it helps to remove harmful bacteria, soften and moisturize skin and has anti aging properties as well... it’s really an all in one product that works wonderfully. I’m happy to report that the individual who requested it credits it to saving her skin and I still send it to her regularly.


It is packed full of herbs that are wonderful for your skin and is great for all skin types. It helps remove excess oil without drying skin, all while reducing the size of pores and fighting acne. It will leave your skin feeling clean, soft and moisturized.


You can find the full tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Herbal Clay Facial Mask


Clay has been used since ancient times for its healing benefits as well as its ability to actually pull toxins out of the skin. Clay masks have become increasingly popular in the last few years but, as with everything that is readily available at our local stores, the ingredients do more harm than good... and of course are extremely expensive. This recipe is made with the ingredients you actually want to put on your skin, and will give it that detox that it so desperately need sometimes. It’s easy to make, and leaves your skin feels soft, clean and moisturized. I always like to follow up this mask with the Herbal Toner above.


Our faces are exposed to free radicals, dirt and germs throughout the day and sometimes it just needs a good detox. This homemade herbal mask will help pull toxins and impurities from your pores while exfoliating skin, and increasingly blood flow for overall radiance.


You can find the full tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Herbal Healing Ointment


This healing ointment is packed full of healing herbs, oils and clays to give you the best multipurpose product you will ever find. It’s a great alternative for the store bought antibacterial ointments for cuts and scrapes while healing all sorts of rashes or dry skin. It’s probably the most used product in our house and for good reason, it’s just good for so many ailments!


This has completely replaced that antibiotic ointment that we use to buy at the store and quite frankly, it works a lot better. By combining herbs know for their anti-bacterial as well as healing properties with moisturizing oils, we end up with a great multipurpose product. This can be used for cuts, scrapes, burns, bites, rashes, dry skin, etc.


You can find the full tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


I hope that you find these tutorials beneficial and that they encourage you to try to to make your own, I promise you won’t regret it.



Stay tuned for part two! Because there were just too many for one post...





Thanks so much for reading,


79FE2993-DDC8-4085-928B-B281470C8E1F.jpeg



All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thank you.

Sort:  

i think i am gona start a beauty products bussiness

Interesting post Congratulations u just received resteem from @steemwhalepower please upvote this comment to help everyone who uses this service if you want me to remove this comment reply remove
Follow me for more random resteems

@llfarms what a great selection of posts thanks I've resteemed and upvoted 👍

Thank you so much!

Good collection of natural products, I was interested in facial toner. My son recently developed acne and it is a struggle to calm down the skin, you keep applying different lotions that make the skin dry and if you apply some cream that makes skin greasy again.

I will try to collect the ingredients but Organic Raw Apple Cider Vinegar, is it easy to find it in bioshops?

Thanks for sharing such useful tips and I would say back to roots!

You’re so welcome! And yes, normally in the fight against acne we strip our skins of its natural oils and then it over produces them to compensate, making the problem even worse.

Apple cider vinegar is available in all grocery stores here, not sure about in your area but also make sure you find one with the mother, that contains all that beautiful good bacteria. If you cannot find it, it is relatively easy to make yourself.

Hopefully you are able to get some and it helps him!

I just recently had a conversation with the adult son of my next door neighbor. He introduced himself as No-Shave and offered me to some beard oil that he makes.

Thanks for sharing about how to make some of your favorite products. Hopefully No-Shave Dave will hook me up soon :)