Make A Minnow Winner!?!! 😱 - Goals And Plans For Delegation

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

22408F2D-006C-4FED-8992-CB607C978612.png




I feel so honored, and quite frankly shocked, today to become the most recent MAM (Make A Minnow) Winner. For those of you that have no idea what that means, let me explain it a bit;


The @msp-makeaminnow project (part of @aggroed’s PAL discord server) runs a monthly contest where members can nominate other active members to win a 5000SP for one month, sponsored by the very generous @eturnerx.

This initiative is about awarding a minnow who creates quality content and supports fellow content creators in a community under the PAL/MSP umbrella and giving them a delegation prize as a reward for their efforts! Giving our minnows the opportunity to have increased curation influence benefits the entire Steemit ecosystem and should be considered a great honour.

Pretty amazing right!? Thank you so much for this opportunity!!!



So, what the heck am I gonna do with it?



Well, let’s be honest... I didn’t see this coming, BUT, I have had this idea in my head for a bit and have been trying to make it a reality.


Of course, like most ideas, it was inspired by something or someone else. This idea came from a combination of the style of curating we do at @helpie (which pays the authors from the curation post payout) and @abh12345’s recent mission to improve the trending page... or rather, provide an alternative.


You see, I have been an advocate for manual curation for quite awhile. I think it is very important to seek out great content, and then lift it as much as we can to help improve the platform as a whole.

Oh Curation



My problem with the popular form of curation that I have seen recently, is that the one benefiting is the curator making the post... rather than the authors who are showcased. While I understand being mentioned by a larger account can significantly help improve your standing on the platform all by itself, my personal experience of being copy and pasted by individuals into their curation post did absolutely nothing for me. In fact, it was quite discouraging to see them make so much more from simply linking my post, than I did after spending the hours it took me to produce it.


But the easy thing is to point out a problem right? The hard part after all is to find a solution. You see, this is not a negative post... it’s quite the opposite, so don’t roll your eyes yet. I’m a big believer in to each their own, but I also think you have to be the change you want to see....


So, with this amazing gift of delegation, I will be launching an...

🔥Alternative Trending Page Daily Curation Post🔥


What does that mean?



It means I will be doing a curation where I will be showcasing posts and their authors that I believe should be trending. I’m hoping to experiment with some different algorithms to calculate this in multiple ways. I will also be splitting the payout of that curation post between the featured authors, as well as giving them a 100% vote.

What is the goal?



My goal is to lift up great content to try and drowned out the bad. Sure the trending page is full of junk most of the time... so, why not make our own?




After all, Steemit is whatever we want it to be... we just have to come together to make it happen.




Looking for a great curation community? You’ve found it! Check out the Curation Collective(@c-squared). A new way to come together to lift great content.


2E1AD405-1AE4-434B-AF36-6DE76063849C.jpeg


Come join us on discord!

https://discord.gg/B8JFmJ4


Logos used with permission from Msp-makeaminnow and c-squared

Sort:  

YAY!! :D Congrats @llfarms :lovewaves:

Still can't sleep and it's now 11 o'clock in the morning... Guess that won't happen anymore ;-)

I'm just now getting acquainted with how all this delegating, voting for witnesses and so on, but I'm still unsure what to do a lot of the time here om Steemit.

I just had the delegation from @meno for a week, so I've been upvoting Helpies like crazy this past week and a half; it never even crossed my mind to upvote my own posts as I didn't think that's what the VP is ment for. We upvote content from others we think make good content. I did upvote my own posts before discussions with other Helpies helped me slowly understand the inner-workings of this platform so to speak.

With your permission I'll talk to you in Discord so you can guide me on how we get this project of yours running and what I can do to help. It looks to be a great initiative, as the Trending page indeed is full of garbage a lot of the time ;-)

Glad to see you trying to do something nice and sweet with the delegation you rightfully won! We'll talk soon (maybe sooner than you think as I don't believe I'll be able to sleep anymore... ;-))

This sounds great. I would love to be a part of this.

Congratulations @llfarms. Our community needs more Steemians who are wanting to help others.

congrats!!

I'm psyched. let's roll!

You are addressing THE Achilles Heal of the entire Steemit experience. Kudos!

Great win! Much congrats!

I'm so happy for you brother. I wish you all luck for your future achievements. Congratulations once again!

Congrats! And good idea! Nice to hear that as the winner you have a plan of action to help spread the joy.

congrats llfarms!

Congrats.

Happy Dance... Congratulations....
I know you will do some good with it

Congratulations :) hope this experience serves you well.

Congratulations on your great achievement.

I look forward to seeing how your experiment works out.
The trending page definitely needs a better algorithm.

Congrats!! That's so cool!!

And I just joined the discord group :) Thanks for putting all this together.

congrats!!!! you're a fantastic person for the delegation! <3

Ohh Excellent! Congratulations!!

Congratulations... that's awesome, good for you!!

This is a great idea. I'm in constant awe of the fabulous ideas here on STEEMIT. I'm impressed you're using the delegation in such a clever way... I feel I've wasted mine.. ! Time to get my thinking cap on.. we all need to work to make this a better place and you are sure doing that!

Oh wow I did not even know about this. Congrats on your win.

frankly I as a reader who dear already saw your post I've seen and I've read I think your post is very good and quite interesting and very useful for me and for all friends steemian's all thanks