Day 3 : Favorite Quotes

in #blog4 years ago

Here are some quotes I try to live by and inspires me everyday to be at my best behavior and self. I also keep a small note labelled quotes where I try to keep some interesting sayings from books I read.

favorite quotes.jpg
This is how it looks like. Though it's really been a while since I filled that little precious note.

image.png

image.png

I'll start with some of the quotes from Ayn Rand. I suppose though I have been questioned why I like her and that I have seen to be crazy for liking her, I still stand by what I believe.

  • “Freedom (n.): To ask nothing. To expect nothing. To depend on nothing.”
    ― Ayn Rand, The Fountainhead

  • “A creative man is motivated by the desire to achieve, not by the desire to beat others.”
    ― Ayn Rand

  • “The man who does not value himself, cannot value anything or anyone.”
    ― Ayn Rand, The Virtue of Selfishness: A New Concept of Egoism

Another comes from the art of war, a book where I learn quite a great deal on how to strategize.

“Know your enemy and know yourself and you can fight a hundred battles without disaster”
― Sun Tzu, The Art of War

Then there's one by Galileo

You cannot teach a man anything, you can only help him find it within himself.” ― Galileo

The funny one is from Fitzgerald,

To-day I feel like I'd break anything for him, including the ten commandments and my neck- Fitzgerald, The Beautiful and the Damned.

There are so many more books I have read and so many quotes I like but I suppose I'd just mentioned these few. Now, I am feeling like resetting my read counter back to 0 and start reading all over again. I'll start with my book shelves where I probably have not finished reading all from there.

~ Mac

Sort:  

That is just seriously cool. A quote diary as it were. Fantastic.

I tend to just put them in various places, which means I can never find most of them when needed. I may have to think that 'diary' idea through a little...

I have a quote or two on my whiteboard all the time. One is permanent from Davey Crockett (a noted frontiersman, politician and defender of the Alamo in the US)

You all may go to Hell, and I will go to Texas

His farewell speech in the US House of Representatives

The other has been hanging around since the start of CV lockdown. I found it in Cycle World magazine.

The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.

Dorothy Parker

Thanks for another look behind the curtain, and the great idea.

You have an entire book with qoutes?! xD

yes, I do 😃

Thanks for using Ecency!
Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

A quote book?! You're the cool version of me 😆

I am weird like that 🤣