Autumn is here.

in #blog7 years ago

birb_texture.png

The weather is getting noticeably cooler and wetter here. I've slowly been getting settled into the routine of being at university, as well as trying to find the time to make things that I would like to share on Steemit.

Even though I had nothing planned for the day, it rained all afternoon; I ended up staying indoors, and did a little doodling. This was drawn on an index card with a regular liquid ink pen, and then cleaned up with a digital editor. It's a black-capped chickadee, a songbird species native to where I live. These birds have a very distinctive call, and can be heard beeping and whistling all throughout the spring and summer.

Around June or July, they seemed to wake up with the sun's first rays, and so I often found myself shutting my bedroom window in order to drown out their early morning bickering. However, as the summer sun came fully into view of my east-facing window, I would have no choice but to open it again, because without the draft, my room would become unbearably hot.

Thinking back on those hottest weeks of the year, it was actually very exasperating. But, I feel as though I haven't heard them in a while now, and strangely enough, I'm almost a little nostalgic for their calls. I hope they're doing okay.

~Mel.

Sort:  

Great post and very informative. @meliorish Have learnt a lot from it.

Thanks for reading!

Wow lovely sketch <3

Congratulations @meliorish! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.