You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thrift Store Finds Of The Day: $6.96 Spent = $265.00 Projected Revenue - Post #1

in #blog7 years ago

Nice finds! I now have a job where I get paid to drive around so I'm going to start trying to find some nice stuff people are throwing out. So far I've only picked up free building materials, but there's quite a bit of other interesting stuff too. Unfortunately, I don't always have room in my truck when I see it.

Sort:  

Good luck to you! A truck would be a dream. I do most of my curb picks with my bare hands walking around, carrying stuff back and forth to my apartment if it's too much. I try to take the smaller stuff to be easy on space and for easier/cheaper shipping. I do take some larger things back, but usually break them out into parts (will show more of this in future posts). Some larger things have been massive flat screen TVs that are too heavy to carry or even these commercial floor cleaners below!

I sold these for $615 (freight shipped) and $450 cash & carry after taking them home in a large cab and lugging them up 4 flights of stairs. Worth it for the $8 cab and free inventory.

They weighed roughly 125 and 100 lbs each, so I saved that mass from the landfill since they were put out on a non-recycling night. On top of that, the cab driver was inspired by what I was doing so I helped him take a large heavy folding table into the back of the cab for himself... probably another 75 lbs!!

IMG_2575.JPG

If you see something bigger, just take a picture of the product label and grab any parts off of it that might have resale value. That way you're still helping the environment and yourself, while not overcommitting on space.

For example, if you found these floor cleaners, you could've taken the water and solution tanks from each, and the one extension cord. The cord could've easily gotten $50. The tanks perhaps $50 each x4. Hope this helps!