Fuck Steemit, Fuck the TOS and Fuck the Flagging?

in #blog6 years ago

There's a recent post by @steemitblog about the newly updated Terms of Service (TOS). Underneath it, is some very lively conversation in the comments.

statueoflibert.jpg

@truthforce laid out some very good points in the comments on this article. I agreed with the points @truthforce made.

Here was my reply and quite honestly is EXACTLY how I feel about new TOS.


I agree with you on this. Although the intent of social media and connecting with others technically isn't a crime, in the US, it can be viewed as such if the person you've connected to is accused of something terrible. Their connections on social media are all then also checked into.

I'm a stickler for legal language. I've been burned by it too many times. Despite how the terms are actually written, the interpretation of it will be whatever is necessary at the time to preserve the company's interests over the person. At least that is how it is in the US.

I read the terms with a fine tooth comb and quite honestly -- there is language in them that can be considered vague as well as, IMHO, full of holes. And not the pretty kind that give you a happy ending.

  • Who is in charge of determining what is illegal?
  • How is "hate speech" defined?

You're right on many counts of what you said.

Even though on the surface, it may appear if you're not doing anything illegal and your intentions are not to do anything illegal, then you shouldn't have anything to worry about. To me, that's the same argument I hear in the States about privacy, "If you don't have anything to hide, why do you care that you're being monitored?"

It comes down to basic human rights, freedoms, etc.

The second you're incorporating in America, you're subjected to all the laws corporations must abide by, regardless of the structure or type. This includes all of the little legal maneuvers you must execute as a company to save your company's ass if you want it to stay in business.

I see these TOS by Steemit and the way they are worded as doing exactly that.

I don't know how much longer I'll be on this platform.

I don't like being subjected to vague and widely interpreted and undefined legal terminology. I get enough of that out of fucking family court. I don't need it out of a social media.


Admittedly, when I joined the platform, I did NOT read the TOS with a fine tooth comb as I was more interested in "getting free Steem" in that moment, thinking I was onto something really good. The previous TOS may also have had some similar language in it. You can see the revisions and changes on GitHub. Don't ask me how to do that. There are other people smarter than me than can show you how to do that.

I AM REALLY TIRED OF NOT BEING ABLE TO SPEAK FREELY IN AMERICA --either because of some Terms of Service, being constantly monitored online by an ex-spouse for stuff that can be twisted and used against me in court, on the job because I'm a woman who is a former Mormon who works with mainly Mormon men, or in an online platform because you have to be careful so you don't get "flagged."

I'm really close to saying Fuck Steemit and Fuck your TOS and Fuck your flagging system.

I remember being actually free.

I remember what the American flag, used to stand for.

And NO, I'm NOT overreacting. I'm NOT being emotional. I have a fucking pulse and brain. An educated one at that. I'm done playing nice.

Image Source: Unsplash

Sort:  

Freedom of speach is not the same as freedom from consequences. As some have mentioned you can us another platform to post onto the steem blockchain, like busy.

Also, even on steemit, you can post anything. Being flagged does not mean you are being stopped from posting. They are using their freedom as a steem power holder to say they do not value what you say - but it doesn't stop you from posting it.

You are right @kabir88; though we were talking here about the right to have freedom of speech; yes every action has a reaction or a consequence, that's how things work. But being forced to shut up by some laws or punitive measures against the right to speak, it's rather ridiculous at least. This is one of the main things that differentiate us from animals, and yet we are pressed against keeping our mouths shut. Not good looking at all .

We can't confuse the right to speak with the right to be heard.

You can post and say anything you like on steem, but that doesn't give someone the right to be heard by everyone. I think that's a reasonable compromise.

If someone is saying something that a lot of people disagree with, the flags don't delete the post. The followers can still see the content if they so wish.

As someone who was flagged down to -5, I can say that my content wasn't "censored", it just wasn't as visible.

When the ToS popped up, I read it. I fired off an email to legal@steemit to resolve issues. I've had no answer. I will not use the platform until those issues are resolved. I'm using Busy.

I didn't want to. I liked Steemit. I don't like it enough to forego my concerns about the ToS. We'll see what comes of it soon I reckon. Until then, I can post and read posts on Busy.

Thanks Busy!

Some companies, we have no choice right now to use and therefore we must agree to the TOS. Other companies, we actually have a choice -- like Steemit. It's not a requirement in life to use the platform to make our lives better or to comply with the current laws of the land.... Companies need to understand this.

Sometimes the only thing they understand is a loss to the pocketbook.

I don't understand the right waiving consensus. I really don't. The words you used for privacy, heard a million times. It's disgusting. I ask married couples, would you like me to watch your intimate times? How about me, listening to your phone calls? They always answer no, but... always say they don't do anything illegal so...

One thing is, how much longer will free speech last? I was kicked off Twitter for exposing sedition between a senator and #2 in DNC via thread. I came here not to bust politicians but to help others. But wonder, how long will this last?

I appreciate your thoughts here. I have some of the same concerns.

you should join us in the @informationwar you will fit right in :) #informationwar

See my blog

...do you feel this grip of suppression 'tightening' over the last couple of weeks?
....Or am I just being over sensitive? ...(not referring to steam , just a general feeling)....

I kinda gave up over the past few weeks on watching almost any news, preferring to get it here and reddit mainly(as bs can be downvoted/called out).

In general, the culture war is lost by the leftists. Too many free speech platforms popping up + tons of Alt Media starting their own shows with hundreds of thousands of followers/patreons/streaming/blah. Only a few million actual people watch CNN and what not. One personality on YT gets more views than CNN now.

Its over for them, but they won't go down without trying to stay relevant. Now is probably the best time in US history to get more media sources to the forefront and encourage critical thinking/truth seeking.

I agree with what your saying, they are definitely losing control of the narrative, but with the Tommy Robinson debacle, came a feeling of 'them' ratcheting it up a notch.

Like they know they are losing big time, and preparing to clampdown more...just my own feeling...

And their willingness to do physical harm must not be discounted.

Also, I don't see much clarity in the alt media; I see much confusion and anger. The alt narrative is fractured and, in the end, most people will shy away from doing anything, apart from feeling slightly better for their "five minutes of hate" directed at untouchable targets.

So you didn't ask this question to me personally, but I know for me, I've felt the "tightening" increase over the last couple of years, but especially in the last month or so for some reason.

...good to know there is someone as paranoid as I am, then !
😂

Being "paranoid" has saved my rear end one too many times.

...me too, mate!

I think the real question is: How much longer will the rest of our freedom of speech last?

And it bothers me. To stay connected, you must use these companies. (Unless you use Scuttlebutt.nz -- which is turning out to be pretty epic by the way). To use these companies, you must agree to the TOS, whether by explicit consent (checking the box) or through simply being on the site (tactical agreement).

I'm taking a deep breath, counting to ten and drinking my vegetable juice.

Agreed, will check out website thanks!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by playingforchange from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

amen!

Thank you for resteeming this.

Well...
I live in Turkey. I know what is like to lose the freedom of speech. In US, you have more than you think. Some of the rappers are unable to rap about drugs for example, in my country.

I also want to say that, your connections and people you follow might be used against you in court. Imagine following someone because you liked their content and they got involved in some kind of illegal shit.
For example hate speech, drug dealing and anything you can imagine.

Imagine you live in Iran or some other Arab country where the atheists are not loved... You know what I mean.
And the person you follow is sharing atheist content.
What happens then?
What if I want to delete my old posts because they show my face. ?

Because of this new shit, they will share my info with everyone. And also sell my info.
So...
I am not so sure what to think.

If there's something that effects my safety, especially with a platform, I find an alternative and I shut down the offending one: -- for all the reasons you explained. It's not as bad here in the US, but it can be for some people who have stalkers, have been in domestic violence situations or are continually "hunted" just outside the lines, making it legal.

If I was in the situation you're describing, I would have to change platforms.

I believe they will fix it soon. Otherwise steem price will go down like hell and their pockets will get hurt.

That is a possibility.

"If you're not doing anything wrong then you have nothing to hide"....
said Reich minister of propaganda, Joseph Goebbels.

Great article, even though it's short. problem is as i mentioned and advocated before, they're too many ignorant and dumb people that simply don't get that's all about the freedom of choice, basic human rights. What can it be done about them!?

I don't know. Thank you for reblogging this.

No worries. I wanted to upvote it, but the weight of my vp it says is very little, so i resteemed it instead . Looking forward for your future posts; you have now a new follower :d. Cheers