You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Want To Live On This Planet Anymore

in #blog6 years ago

I've been actively ignoring the world around me lately; normally thats because of work, but since thats been kicked in the pants I've had plenty of free time... but like I said I've been actively ignoring the world at large in favour of drinking beer and watching Shakespeare with good ol' Gary!

So it really didn't come as that much of a shock when I DID in fact look out my window (or into my phone as it were), and flick on the radio that I heard about this damnable rabbit in almost the SAME breath as the Florida shooting.

Now I understand that the Florida shooting IS something worth talking about, its unfortunate that we HAVE to keep talking about it because they keep happening so often. I was upset it was mentioned alongside this bloody rabbit... I've got Honours in Broadcasting just collecting dust because its a young man's game these days ol' Radio... but that newscast came from a station that I KNOW the News Director of... I'd have been beaten with my copy if I made a news cast with those two stories in succession... Talk about ruining any sense of importance or intent of message...

"WE go now from the horrors of one cartoon rabbits private war on the allergic population to equally despairing events in Florida, wherein we examine one students misuse of the term 'Bullet Points!' But first SPORTS!"

But yea, @lemony-cricket save me a seat on the next jump to Mars will ya?

Sort:  

Right? There are so many actual problems to worry about.

I just can't process these attempts to manufacture issues to fit their agenda when I am having a hard enough time processing the bending of actual tragedies to do the same. As @kryptik said... what the literal fuck? (That's a good one. I'm stealing it.)

one students misuse of the term 'Bullet Points!'

Oh god. You went there. I'm glad my sick sense of humour has some company here on Steemit.

I did go there... had too... We had this radio station in Canada back in the day... learned about them in school. The way those guys read and wrote their news stories; I never forgot it. This whole clip is excellent, but for the sake of your humour go to 4:38.

Thanks for sharing this-- learned something new and fascinating today. I nearly fell out of my chair at the thing the one guy almost got fired for :)

Kind of comes full circle with the people bitching about it, saying they went too far... who are these people trying to ruin all the fun for the rest of the world?

Fuck them! I want to hear this sort of shit on my morning news!