You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writing a Novel

in #blog6 years ago

Not necessarily. I think the nature of story, the story arc, etc, is more than just cultural (there is no society in the world that does not have stories). I think story patterns express the nature of the human mind and how our brains are constructed/work.

Therefore, stories from the past are like evolution, the only ones we know about are the successful ones that chime with the human brain/mind. The rest have disappeared -
become extinct. I think 200 years ago, writing a successful novel was a lot more hit-and-miss than it is today.

Back then, they would have loved to have access to the wealth of story and writing information we possess.

I think the internet has made story more important to human society not less.

If the internet is being shaped by story, I wonder if the internet itself reflects the nature of the human mind/brain. Ooh, that's a deep question - I will have to consider a post on that one.

Sort:  

You can find more of my posts, articles, and stories in My Steemit Library:

Alt text

Nick

(The link will take you away from Steemit.com, but the library links bring you back again)