By Appearance

in #blog7 years ago

Five days a week, I drive behind the middle school to deliver the paper. I never see anyone there.

A couple of weeks ago, I drove behind the school and there was a box van with the back open. A man, unloading bread, looked over his shoulder, a little nervously, and sees me behind the wheel. I see his shoulders visibly relax. I delivered, yelled a good morning and drove on. It occurred to me, though, we sure do assume an awful lot by appearance.

How was he supposed to know I wasn't some ninja grandma (if he could even see my gray hair at that hour of the early morning) or some knife wielding crazy bitch? Which, tbh, is not far off. I mean, I could've whipped out of that car and jumped him but he assumed I was harmless.

I decided I need to take ninja classes.

Sort:  

Cool! I follow you. I give you a vote!