State of the Union

in #blog7 years ago

This is what it looks like to me:

I, being of brown skin with the ability to speak a second language, am not welcome in what has been, for at least part of my heritage, the only home I've known (Indigenous).

I, being of brown skin with the ability to speak a second language, am not welcome in what has been, for at least part of my heritage, the home I've known since 1500. Yuppers, England and the rest of Europe were scrambling to get to the 'new world' while the Spaniards were already invading.

I, being of brown skin with the ability to speak a second language, am not welcome in what has been, for at least part of my heritage, the home I've known since I was brought from Africa in the 1500s.

I, being of brown skin with the ability to speak a second language, am not welcome in what has been a land I've fought for, a land I've helped create into an economic giant, a land that was mine before it was anyone else's.

Those of the mindset that brown doesn't belong here need to read history. Those of the mindset that brown doesn't belong here need to move back to their respective countries of origin. Or Texas.

https://www.andothervignettes.com/2017/01/31/state-of-the-union/