You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foodie bought a house!

in #blog6 years ago

Thank you! Yeah, the stress is far from over, but it'll all be worth it in the end!
Home ownership is awesome indeed. I never did feel much for renting a place. It's just a poorer choice financially speaking. But you do need enough of your own cash to bring in and/or a stable job to pay for the mortage. Luckily we have both right now. I bring in the own cash, my boyfriend has the stable job :D

Sort:  

That is teamwork right there.

I have rented in the past and hated it. You are literally throwing money away because you will never own that dwelling. Sometimes it is even cheaper to buy than it is to rent which is just wild to me because so many still prefer to rent.

Oh yes, exactly! I rented for a little while aswell, but it did indeed feel like throwing money away. My mortgage for the first house I bought was basically around the same price, but that eventually led to a nice amount I can now put in our new house! With interest very low right now, combined with that extra money I can put in, our new mortgage will be much lower than any kind of rental place.

Sure, rental means less to worry about, but financially, I'd much rather own.