Camping & Whale Watching in Tofino 🐳

in #blog β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

IMG_5026.jpg

I finally arrived at Tofino I've always dreamed of 🌟 Before heading to the campsite, we stopped at Long Beach, a famous surfing spot. Although it was mid-summer in mid-August, the weather in Tofino was 12-19 degrees Celsius, similar to the temperature in early autumn in Korea. It was the coldest summer I have ever felt in my life 😳

651213627.945923.jpg

'Bella Pacifica Campground' where we spent 4 nights in Tofino. Although I don't have much camping experience, I can confidently say that it is the most beautiful campground in the world. Easily accessible location, clean, safe, fresh air, majestic trees, beautiful beach, countless stars embroidered the night sky.

IMG_5116.jpg

One disappointment was that I could not swim or surf because the weather was too cold for me. How do Canadians get in the water in this cold weather? They seem to have special abilities and I'm so envious 😜

IMG_5153.jpg

IMG_5173.jpg

IMG_5261.jpg

I felt like I was on the set of the movie 'Avatar' wherever I go in Tofino.

IMG_5057.jpg

IMG_5058.jpg

The activity I've been waiting for the most! Time to go whale watching. There are several companies that provide whale watch tours, and we chose this place called 'James's' one of the most experienced and famous places.

IMG_5061.jpg

James offers not only whale watch tours but also bear watching tours, so there were a lot of bears and sea animals in the souvenir section.

IMG_5065.jpg

Captain Chris who will show us whales today 🐳

653273855.031072.jpg

Did i see a whale? of course, I saw lots of them! It was amazing to see whales in the wild. It was different from seeing sea animals in an aquarium. It was unbelievable that various sea creatures existed so close to humans. It was a feeling that cannot be described in words.

IMG_5088.jpg

The captain told us that he had seen the most whales in recent days this day. We saw about 5 or 7 whales (humpback and grey) and countless sea animals. Among them, the most memorable animal was the otter. Otters swimming leisurely with abalone in one hand and a baby otter in the other were not so different from humans.

b3d6f67b0a94e19b2ea20fd853bddbe13c294107acef8deff91d1b91ff99398ac488f17fcb0f4e3a8a3c75766034912f1367d291e6143f388cc81e9c724a07439b9976b518144621ef6503b32c0dddc9.jpeg

This is Korean anime called 'Bono Bono' and Bono Bono is an otter. I've never seen otters in real life except for this anime. All the otters were swimming like Bono Bono 😍 They were so so so adorable and cute ❀️

The tour was very satisfying. It's 100% worth the money we paid!! It was a tour that could only be done in Canada, so I would not regret it at all. Captain Chris was so funny and made us laugh while we waited for the whales. Next time if I can visit Tofino ever again I'd love to have bear watch tour πŸ˜ƒ

IMG_5106.jpg

After I came back from the tour my sister-in-law prepared these amazing snacks! This was the first time I tried Au Jus. So you can eat by dipping the beef sandwiches into Au Jus(beef soup). The best sandwich ever. My sister in law is an amazing cook and every time she makes something blow my mind πŸ˜‹ The soup was so warm and the beef in the sandwich was so tender that it melted in your mouth.

IMG_5193.jpg

When you camping, you have no choice but to keep eating. Maybe that's why people going on a camping! People keep bringing delicious food. It's like heaven...!

IMG_5192.jpg

I alsmo made small Korean bbq platter for everyone. People never tried these so they thought it was just bacon. It's pork belly and we call it 'Sangyeopsal', no.1 popular Korean bbq for Koreans ;)

The camping experience in Tofino is so precious. I want to come again next time I have a chance. No, Tofino is so beautiful that I want to come every year 😭 If you love nature, animals, the ocean and camping, Tofino is a paradise for you.