Hello Hive From Vancouver

in #blog2 years ago

Hello Hive ;) After a long vacation, I am finally back in Hive. A lot has changed in my life over the past few months and I want to start writing about my story slowly from now on again. After blogging for the past 4-5 years, I thought I was a little tired of it, but after taking a break for a while, I can't wait to blog again.

I want to go back to last summer and show you how I spent time in Vancouver. Let's go back the summer, shall we?

IMG_4330.JPG

Do I look like a total tourist? My husband thinks it's funny that I wanted to buy this super touristy looking bottle of water, but I love it, I couldn't resist 😍

IMG_4356.jpg

My first summer in Vancouver was very special to me. So many things were different compared to Asia where I'm from. The most shocking thing of summer in Van was that the sun rises around 5 am and it stays till 11 pm. There is no summertime in Korea, it was a very strange experience to see the sun until late at night. Do I like it? I LOVE it!!

We went to Stanley Park almost every day. Because of the hot weather in Vietnam, it's impossible to walk around outside or sit in a park for a picnic during the day, but in Vancouver, I was able to do things I've been missing for so long ♥️

IMG_4357.jpg

Another shocking thing is that prices in Vancouver were so so so expensive. Probably the most expensive country I've been to. If you grab a few things to eat at the supermarket, it would quickly cost over $60. If it was Vietnam, it would have been less than $12 😭

IMG_4358.jpg

Anyhow have you guys ever tried Sashimi like this way? This is the Korean way of eating raw fish. You dip it in a spicy sauce called Chogochujang and eat with a little bit of wasabi. Chogochujang tastes a little spicy and it's also sweet and sour, it's my favorite Korean sauce 😋

IMG_4389.jpg

Speaking of the price, when we went to Kitsilano for a bike ride and we found this old house. When I asked my husband, he predicted that even an old house like this would cost over 1 million dollars in Vancouver. Wow, I can't believe how people in Vancouver afford to buy a house 😱

IMG_4341.jpg

IMG_4345.jpg

Also, there was so much wildlife in Vancouver! It's so amazing to see raccoons on the street. I saw rabbits, squirrels, and coyotes as well as wild raccoons at Stanley Park.

IMG_4340.jpg

And another interesting thing about Vancouver is that everything is so big!! This piece of sushi was about the size of my fist. This is the biggest sushi I've ever seen! Not just the food, all the trees, and birds and even people were so tall in Canada 👀

IMG_4343.jpg

Another beautiful summer day in Vancouver. It felt like Covid went away completely last summer. No one was wearing a mask, and everyone was laughing and talking and having a happy time with other people. Oh... I miss those days... It's so sad that the Covid situation got worse this winter again, but I believe that Summer always comes back again.

IMG_4362.jpg

IMG_4365.jpg

And, of course, I tried ramen at Danbo. I waited in line for about an hour to enter the restaurant, but the taste was a bit disappointing. So as the staff's service 😭 I want to try a different ramen restaurant next time!! If you know better Ramen place in Van please let me know! 😜

Thanks for reading, Cheers!
XOXO

Sort:  

Interesting you visiting a country trying to find food you know, not having been to either country I would enjoy getting to learn about the local food where you may not pay as much. Perhaps tastes of Asia are more expensive in Canada?

Parks look amazing, beach is very full, normal tourist area which I would naturally avoid, nice to travel learning more about how people experience different places in life.

During self-quarantine, the hotel served Canadian meals three times a day, and the food was really poor. It was so oily and salty, it was like being served frozen food all the time 😩 So, as soon as I got out of self-quarantine, I was looking for the Asian food that I missed hehe 😉 But I love Canadian food as well. Especially poutine is my favorite ❤️

Yes Canadians love poutine, finding mixed cultures you will be sure to find variety of foods in cities. Country life appeals to me where you will find fresh, good to be out of quarantine, now actual exploring begins.