My Thoughts About Living in Canada

in #blog • 2 years ago

9911063B5C8E343229.jpeg

I am writing this post to share my personal experiences of what life was like in Canada 😉 Canada was the first western country I've ever tried to live in. And I'm aware that the amount of time I spent here is not a long time to accurately describe one city, and I am sure there are many other things that I have not experienced yet. So, please read it with that in mind.

download (6).jpeg

The summer weather in Vancouver is so amazing. The sky is blue without a single cloud, and the sun rises early in the morning and goes down after 10 pm. Sometimes the sun is up until 11 pm, and I have never seen such a scene in my life, so it was unbelievable. During the summer the UV is pretty strong, but the wind breeze is cool, and unlike in East Asia, it was not humid!! In August, I went camping in Tofino, and the weather in Tofino was much colder than in Vancouver, so I had to wear a winter jacket in the summer for the first time. That was the coldest August I've ever felt 😳

Vancouver is a multi-ethnic city where you can taste food from different countries. For exotic food lovers like me, Vancouver is paradise. It's not just about food, it's a diverse population, so no matter what country you're from, Vancouver is a place you can be part of them. Recently, I often read news articles about the increase in hate crimes against Asians due to the Covid19. However, in Canada, everyone treated me so kindly. I didn't feel any racism in public places. When I travel in a country with a culture that is completely different from mine, I often feel people's gaze or discrimination, but it was good that I had never had such an experience in Vancouver and I could be the part of community almost immideately.

Another great thing about Vancouver, in my opinion, is that you can enjoy a variety of hobbies. Especially if you are someone who enjoys an active life such as camping, skiing, sailing, or hiking, this is a paradise. No matter where you go, Canada's natural wonders are incredible. Being in such natural beauty makes you feel like your body and mind are healed. The air and water are also probably the cleanest in the world.

craigslist-vancouver-1-5498487-1627405475944.jpeg
An image from a since-deleted Craigslist post shows a 'micro studio' for rent in Vancouver.

Although Canada has many advantages, it also has disadvantages. Vancouver is probably the most expensive city I've ever been to. The thing that shocked me the most was the rent price. Few 2-bedroom apartments in Vancouver are available for rent under $2000. I read an article last summer, and it was about an advertisement that someone actually renting their bathroom attached to their apartment introduced as a micro apt and that you can rent it for about $680 per month!

Here is the article: https://bc.ctvnews.ca/billed-as-micro-studio-craigslist-user-tries-to-rent-vancouver-bathroom-with-bed-inside-1.5498479

I've also heard that people living in Vancouver spend more than 30% of their income on rent. Not only the rent but also almost everything you need to live is more expensive in Vancouver I think. For example, ingredients, industrial products, phone and internet bills, etc.

I've seen a lot of homeless people in Vancouver, and probably they live on the streets for a variety of reasons but the high rent price could be one of the main factors.

Canada is definitely a wonderful country to live, but if you want to live here, do enough research before making your decision. Because in some areas, Canada may be very different from what you imagined.

Sort:  

Rent in Seoul is keeping up with those prices. One closet is about $500 per month and for $700 a month you can even fit a shower stall in the closet. When I was a kid Vancouver was like the wild west. My Korean friend's kids live there now. They should be coming home for Summer break soon.
!PIZZA

 2 years ago (edited) 

The rent price in Seoul is expensive as well, but the further away you are from the city center, the more affordable houses you can find. Especially in Busan, where I came from, the rent is way cheaper than in Seoul. You can rent a similarly sized apartment for 1/4 to 1/5 the price of Vancouver. However, in BC, even in a small city like Nanaimo where you have to take a boat for two hours from Van, the rent price is not that different from Vancouver. On the other hand, in Korea, the farther you go into the countryside, the cheaper the rent is.

It seems like all of Canada is expensive. Here at least you can get on a KTX and find some reasonable properties. Cool. Enjoy your summer.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@mineopoly(3/5) tipped @ramengirl (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

I've only been to Canada once and I loved it. I was at Alberta; Calgary, Edmonton and Banff. I know what you mean about the skies, and the open space. I went in late spring / early Summer and it was just amazing.

Long time, hope you're doing well.

Heyy @adetorrent :) I'm doing well thank you 😌 late spring / early Summer is the best time to visit Canada! I'm glad you have good memories of your trip to Canada. Doooon't come in the winter hahaha. Hope you are doing good ^^

Lovely view of the lake.