You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maybe My Content Just Sucks!

in #blog6 years ago

I have to agree with @robertandrew. Until you've hustled enough to get a following it's not enough to have really great content. There's just too much competition out there. I have seen people who started later than or around the same time as I did and are getting a really great following and equivalent rewards but I admit they're posting more difficult-to-create content than I am and some of them are doing it more frequently than I am (even though it probably takes me as long to write my posts - I'm kinda a slow editor).

The attention I'm getting is similar to what you're saying you used to have but it's like the art world, you have to make a bunch of interested contacts and I've been hustling to make those contacts. I like what I'm doing so it isn't really working but I'm putting in enough time that I could be working a regular job. I seriously read a lot of posts that I consider quality content on topics that really interest me to the point that I can make intelligent feedback and I also get some decent upvotes for intelligent replies which is really nice too - also feedback for content in a roundabout way. Another thing is that I stop visiting bloggers who can't be bothered to interact with and upvote anyone else's quality comments or posts (one, the other, or both). I'm not picky about them not always upvoting my content but they need to appreciate their followers.

I'm kind of embarrassed to say that I've also bought a few votes that weren't for other people but I steadily refuse to upvote my own posts/comments as I've decided that it should be evident that I consider my posts and comments to be upvote-worthy or I wouldn't post them. I know, I'm a rebel! 😊

Sort:  

The attention I'm getting is similar to what you're saying you used to have but it's like the art world, you have to make a bunch of interested contacts and I've been hustling to make those contacts. I like what I'm doing so

That's a really good analogy. Thank you for that. Never thought of that particular Niche and that is so true. No matter how good a damn artist you are it takes Contacts and getting to know people etc..etc..to get yor Art shown in a gallery.

Another thing is that I stop visiting bloggers who can't be bothered to interact with and upvote anyone else's quality comments or posts (one, the other, or both). I'm not picky about them not always upvoting my content but they need to appreciate their followers.

Yes I can totally relate. For instance , there is a certain Steemian that we ALL know pretty much. He's only been here since April or May. But he brought over a HUGE Following from other outlets like FB and YT.

But it is pretty much all about him ( he even openly talks about his fav subject to talk about: "himself" lol and I just do not even full with him and his Content anymore , to be frank ).

I am making a vow right now that when I do start to make a substantial income I will continue looking for undiscovered talent, helping develop and supporting that talent thru engagement, upvoting, and resteming them and make that a huge "Cause " I embrace and work hard at !