Horror Comedy Show in Covent Garden

in #blog7 years ago

Saturday I decided to take my sister’s offer and go out and see this comedy show she bought tickets for probably a month ago on the internet. So my mum, both of my sister’s and I head out into central London at around 4 pm all excited to go to this unknown place I have never been before and maybe have a few laughs. As we got there I realised the place was nothing spectacular rather just a standard pizzeria somewhere around Covent Garden. I asked my sister if that was the right place, she scratched her head and went in and asked at the bar whether or not we were in the right place. The owner of the restaurant gave us a warm welcome while checking out our reservation and immediately showed us to our table. I was even more confused at this point because the tables in the restaurant were so tightly close to each other and had no stage where a comedian could come and do the show. We sat down and we were served the pizza menu straight away, apparently the show had a meal and a drink included on the booking as I soon learned. I personally ordered a vegetarian pizza and while waiting for it to be prepared had a really good glass of champagne, I couldn’t tell what brand it was but it was probably the best drink I had in a while, not that I drink alcoholic beverages very often.

20170715_175907.jpg

It was now 5 pm and our reservation said the show will start at 7 pm. Yes we probably went there a little bit too early. As we had finished our meal we decided to go out of the restaurant and come back later, luckily Convent Garden is probably the best place to waste a couple of hours just walking around, but having three female companions it was pretty obvious we had to hit all the shops in the vicinity. If it wasn’t so hot outside I would have enjoyed the next 2 hours of just walking around in circles, well that’s what I felt we were doing anyway, but the heat was coming down on me appearing to melt me away out of existence.

20170715_184338.jpg

20170715_184630.jpg

20170715_184657.jpg

20170715_184524.jpg

It was 20 minutes to 7 and I was definitely so happy to start walking back to that restaurant where we were supposedly meant to see the very thing we came out in town for. As we got back I asked the owner to guide us to our seats and told us to walk down the stairs and occupy any seat we want. Wow, Wow, that’s exactly what ran through my mind over and over again as I seen the room we entered downstairs. Although we haven’t seen any of the comedy so far we start laughing hard at the poor decision to come to a place we haven’t checked out before hand, it surely wasn’t described on the internet as we had come to find out. It is hard to explain and describe the room in detail but from memory just because the entire place was painted black so it was hard to make out the exact dimensions of the room, there was a tiny light source that illuminated the very small stage in front of 6 rows of chairs, four chairs in a row, tightly close to each other. We were the first to arrive and took up the last row in this pitch black room. It was almost surreal now that I think about it, like we have willingly gone down a tomb in order to get a laugh. There were about 24 chairs in total and I’m deeply surprised that most of them got filled by the time the first comedian started his act. I’m not here to be critical about the restaurant and I’m not going to say the restaurant name as this is not a review of any sort but I’m definitely not going back to get my giggles there any time soon. Even the comedians were making their intro jokes with regards to the place we currently was. I wanted to record a few acts but the darkness of the room made it impossible to do so. I’m just glad we got out of there alive because it may have looked at first that it could be a trap for a sad serial killer that hates people who enjoys having laugh.

20170715_191739.jpg

20170715_191932.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @rgt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post. Definitely an eye opener.

@rgt