Writing is hard

in #blog2 years ago

Ok so, its been awhile. I'm starting to come to terms that my writing... it doesn't really contain my voice that well. It probably has something to do with my dyslexia. Or my ADHD. Or Mercury is in retrogaming or whatever. But most likely I was just burned out.

untitled.gif

So I took a break, want to see if stepping back would help. In way it has, but the only real result is that my content has suffered for it. Really I just don't have the discipline to write. I like to talk, it is one of the reasons I joined the I the Show podcast. I like to talk.

Also this draft is like 2 months old now. I feel I should either publish it or delete it. So if you are reading it you know which one I picked. I'm thinking of doing a thing-a-day for the next week to see if I can just write anything. So it might now be long or good or anything really, but I think I just need to start writing again.

So for todays thing-of-the-day I thought I would talk about my weekend. A couple of months back my wife's friend thought it would be fun to rent a couple of cabins on a river for the weekend and do some pseudo-camping. You know, s'mores, board games, and nature with Wi-Fi, jet tubs, and a blender to make margaritas. That kind of thing.

Now its the day before we leave; I'm checking the weather, doing the route planning, packing clothes I know I wont wear, normal Husband stuff for me. Let's go to Ollie Williams for the three day forecast...

ThanksOllie.gif

Thanks Ollie

Yep, it rained almost constantly for the three days we were there. Which was fine for me, I'm an indoor person at heart. But the other two couples had planned on 6 hour hikes, so they were disappointed. They still drove out and took picture for most of the day while I hung out at our cabin with my toddler. He is also pretty introverted so he just played with the toys we brought with us.

I decided to pass the time with new game that I invented called "Kill the Carpenter Ants in the Cabin". The rules were simple, just keep track of the number of ants you kill. By the end of the second day my kill count was in the mid 40s. Final score of the weekend was around 85. The cabin had a bad ant problem.

untitled.gif

However, I think out of the three cabins that we stayed in, it was the best. Cabin Two's oven burnt almost everything we cooked in it and Cabin Three smelled like the drain field was backing up into the shower. Cabin One for the... well maybe not win... but something adjacent to winning? Like picking best out of three broken shopping carts. Or your favorite Jersey Shore cast member.

All in all, it wasn't a bad weekend, but it wasn't great either. I would give it a rating of

6.5/10 at least there was WiFi.

Until we meet again!

Sort:  

Drat about the weather x_x still that's better than half XD

Have you tried vlogging if you like talking?

Honestly, the rain doesn't bother me. I spent most of my childhood in southeastern Alaska, heavy on the rain, not that much snow. It wasn't a bad weekend, I just feel I would have had a better time at home. For some people that makes it a bad trip. For me? As a stay-at-home parent, it was a working weekend. So what can you do.

As for Vlogging, yeah I do that sometimes. The Think Tank episodes that I re-blog I'm in. Ya know, shameless self promotion and all that. I should try doing more of it in the future.

I imagine it's more of a pain in the system to set up XD was just throwing an idea around as you seem to want to make stuff and it's easier to make stuff if you can present it in a format you're happiest in :)

This is true, it is a pain in the system. XD

As a note, I meant to publish this on Monday the 6th, but passed out before I could.