Love Yourself Enough to Leave

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

movingon.jpg

Are you in a toxic relationship, one that won't improve no matter how desperately you've tried? Does it seem the harder you try, the worse it gets? The less they care? Do they know the things that hurt you, and do them anyway? Do they make you feel "less than" and never enough?

I've been there.

Advice:

Strike a match.

Light that painful shit on fire.

And NEVER. LOOK. BACK.

Leaving is hard, but staying is harder.

I'm all about fighting for a relationship, but not if your partner has already thrown in the towel with apathy and an unwillingness to put in equal work. Without mutual effort, I promise, nothing will change.

You are worthy of love and respect and mindfulness. PERIOD. If you're endlessly feeling belittled, betrayed or broken-hearted, it's time to ✌ out. Relationships should be our safe place from pain, not the source of it.

I stayed in an emotionally abusive relationship for longer than I'm proud of. Walking away was both excruciating and terrifying. But I knew no matter how hellish leaving would be, nothing could compare to the agony of begging for a love that just wasn't there for me.

"There are far better things ahead than any we leave behind." PREACH, C.S. Lewis! 👏

There is life on the other side. I know because I made it through, and in so doing found a peace I never knew would be possible for me. Where I'd once lost myself I now feel more ME than ever before. Hope has returned in spades.

Hallelujah.

Many lessons were learned and for that, I'm grateful. But the one I hold most valuable? Learning to honor myself, to never betray myself for another again.

I am worthy of love. I am enough. Exactly as I am.

And so are you.

I truly believe that the most beautiful things in life follow our scariest leaps of faith.

Sending love to all you Steemians, and courage to any in need. Xo
Shannon Grace

pin2.jpg

#blog #love #relationships #health

Sort:  

Hi Passing by and Upvoted you :) !
:
“When in court, the primary role of lawyers is not to prove or disprove innocence; unbeknown to almost all lawyers and their clients, it is to save the court time.” ====> Mokokoma Mokhonoana

Great post! Keep it coming!

Although it can be hard there is nothing more empowering and freeing than making that decision to walk away from a relationship that is not positive. It is so easy to get caught up in the idea of the relationship getting better or what it used to be. It may hurt but sometimes you have to just say no more.

Congratulations @shannongrace! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!