Monkey Fingers, Burgers and Wild Mushroom Dumplings at the Taste of London Food Festival in London - Part Three

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

 

As you can probably guess by now, we were quite snap-happy at the Taste Festival so we have a few more pictures for you. Bear with us!After having probably eaten more than enough for the entire night, we decided… to keep going. There were just too many temptations and with each step we took, deliciously food was overwhelming our senses. We left out inhibitions and stepped towards the stalls with open arms and open mouths. 

 The Duck & Waffle and SushiSamba bar was conveniently located just close to the Mexican stands, so when I got a whiff of the smells, I got a hankering for some guacamole and we followed the clear path to Mexico. 

 Mr. Kan Kun didn’t disappoint, we were lead to heaven.Quick question for you guys?Which cheese isn’t yours?NACHO CHEESE.…get it?No? Okay, then let’s keep going.We got to the Peyote stand, and stood in line for goodies. While I was standing in line for my guacamole and chips, Rosie decided to have a chargrilled corn with chilli mayonnaise and queso fresco. 

 The guacamole was deliciously spicy! I had asked for an extra kick, but did not expect it to be this strong. Not that we didn’t like it. We devoured it in no time. 

 Rosie having had a taste for the Mexican now, decided to go try out the slow roasted pork pibil tacos. 

 Which was, according to her, succulently tasty. She devoured the taco and wanted more and more, but I dragged her away.My little stint in “Taste of Thailand” didn’t quite satisfy my oriental cravings so when I passed the Yaoatcha stand, I knew I would be satisfied. I decided to try their wild mushroom dumplings.

 These may not look like much but trust me on this, they were. And all of this coming from someone who doesn’t normally like dumplings…Which caused Rosie to look at my like this. 

 That’s when I knew she wanted something. She got up, rushed over to the stand and got herself the venison puff. 

 Where she left you her teeth marks to admire.I quickly ate the second piece of my dumpling while she was busying herself with her puff and before she could get a taste and then felt slightly guilty and took her (and myself) to get a burger at our belovedShake Shack stand. As you guys may or may not remember, Rosie and I love Shake Shack. We even did a little blog post about it when we were in Miami back in March!A lil’‘Shroom Burger (crisp-fried portobello mushroom filled with melted cheese, topped with lettuce, tomato and ShackSauce) for me, and the Lil’ShackBurger (100% Aberdeen Angus beef cheeseburger topped with lettuce, tomato and ShackSauce) for Rosie. 

 Rosie inspected her burger, gave it her nod of approval, and sank her teeth into it. 

 her face may not seem like much, the sounds that were coming from her confirmed to me that it was amazing.As if we didn’t have enough with the burgers from ShakeShack, we decided we wanted to compare the burgers with the ones from the MEATliquor stand. I ordered up a halloumi mushroom slider, Rosie ordered the double bubble cheeseburger slider and some chicken monkey fingers.My halloumi mushroom slider: 

 Attractive.Rosie’s double bubble cheeseburger slider. I must admit her burger looks just a smidgen tastier, probably because I’m just the more talented photographer. 

 Within seconds, the burger was gone. Magic.And on she went to tackle her monkey fingers. Monkey fingers are super soft breadcrumbs-crusted-deep-fried chicken tenders covered with a holy-crap-this-is-delicious homemade spicy hot sauce with a garlicy oniony cream dip.Have a look for yourself. 

 It tastes as good as it looks. That’s at least what Rosie’s face tells me. 

 But then, the inevitable happened.*PLOP*.A monkey finger dropped right on the center of her dress, leaving a red hot sauce stain.Whoops.Rosie rubbed and tugged at her dress and eventually realizing it won’t budge, came to peace with her new companion of the night and embraced it. 

 “Stain? What stain? The only thing on my mind is this delicious chicken.” And she took another bite.Just look at that sheepish grin. 

 Still, sensing she was a bit dissapointed in her messy situation, I thought it would be nice to cheer her up with a little something-something.At the Frozen Yogurt stand. 

 Where does the milky froyo come from?” *strategic placement* 

 Literally stuffed to our toes at this point, we sat and enjoyed the rest of the sun at the Taste of London. We were even fortunate enough to get to see SushiSamba’s Executive Chef Cláudio Cardoso at the Cook Skills Theatre where he explained the importance of cutting a fish right and demonstrated how to cut a fish right in front of us. At the end of the day, completely knackered and full, we hopped in a cab and headed to Soho where he hit up the Experimental Cocktail bar, tried a few cocktails out and then sank happily fed into the soft sheets of our beds.Goodnight!

Love,

Juliana 

 


Sort:  

I love going to food festivals! We have 3 within a short distance of my house every year. Taste of Niagara, Taste of Buffalo, and Taste of Danforth. I am always treated to lots of new culinary delights. But you're right, it can lead to wardrobe malfunctions... Looks like you guys had a great time, wish I was there with you!

it really was great:) i'm sure i'll be a repeat customer!

What was your favorite food there? I just followed you by the way.

thanks for following us, my favorite was probably the shake shack slider.

Cool, I'll keep you updated about my favorite foods from my festivals. So far, it was the Greek souvlaki at the Taste of Danforth in Toronto.

thanks for all the support guys! :)

Ha Ha, Tomorrow begins the diet

sure, i believe you ;)

this blog is food heaven!

Mutual koment and subscribe))))

more delicious food! i love it!

Oh my gosh the food in here looks DELISHHHHHUSHHHHHH no mnomnomnomnom!!!

I haven't been to a food festival in a while - We used to have a Taste of Utica festival that happened 2 and 3 summers ago... My city of Utica, NY has a large immigrant population because of our very large Refugee center. We had food from Bosnia, Myanmar, Vietnam, Somalia, Cambodia, Russia, Croatia, Ukraine and many other places - Basically, you got a sample for $1 dollar - So I'd be bloated and full after 7 bucks.

Excellent post and I hope you have a great day!!! WHOOHOO! I discovered this from the Steemit.chat!

I UFC'd!! (Upvoted, Followed, and Commented)

-bigedude

thanks for the support Big Dude - i think you just coined a new Steemit Acronym "UFC".

This makes me miss Taste of Chicago. Food is pretty good here in the PNW too, though! I am sooo hungry now!

i've only ever been to taste of London, but i plan to go to taste of Paris next!

Looks like a lot of fun and a lot of tums. LOL
Im trying somthing new myself. A steemit emoji journal https://steemit.com/steemit/@joelinux/8-11-16-2-00am-california-mildly-entertaining-journal-entry-1

Looks great, i havent been to this festival yet and I'm a huge foodie :) Thanks for sharing with us! Check out my foodie recipes you might like them too :)

all looks so tastyè!

OM MY LORRRRD! those burgers!

I like food festivals too! This was a great post with some nice pictures! :)