Valve Song: COUNT TO THREE ■ feat. Ellen McLain (the original GLaDOS), The Stupendium & Gabe Newell

in #blog3 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was released my most favorite song that sums up the past decade of gaming (for me)...

The valve song is a project that makes fun of the inability of Gabe Newell and Valve corp. to count to 3
if you are a gamer and a Half Life lover (Like I am) you know this already.

I was waiting for a half life 3 for something over 18 years I think (lol) just for Valve to release "Half Life Alyx" (I bought the Valve Index just to play that game, and then sold it cause there are not enough titles for VR that could keep my interest going) Never the less the game is a masterpiece and probably the most important game of the past decade for the gaming industry, it is a milestone for valve and everyone that is involved in VR gaming either that is developers or gamers.
Sadly not enough people own VR machines to experience the game, I hope that in the near future VR prices will become cheaper (Hopefully you wont be able to mine ETH with them in the future.)

Anyhow. Enjoy this musical masterpiece with the original GlaDOS voice Ellen McLain.

Note to valve developers. Make more bloody games please!!!!!!

Sort:  

And while they've twiddled their thumbs, running in circles of perfectionism, video games have become the most profitable form of media. Yeah they're making a killing on Steam, but they could make a second killing on a new real game. GTA V has made $billions.

The one rational explanation I can come up with is that they're afraid of releasing a buggy stinker of a game as "Half-Life 3" and then the negative reputation of that game might make a dent in the market dominance of the Steam platform. To that I'd say: just playtest the thing. I really think it's perfectionism. They wanted Episode 3 to be a big bang and it never came out. There is something pathological going on in the leadership of Valve's game division. Or maybe Gabe ate them all.

hahahaha, perfectionism is a hell of a drug man.
I agree at every point. Even though I am a huge fan boi for anything Valve related I cannot excuse their luck of interest in some IP's I have fallen in love for years on and years out.
They really put me off when they started focusing 100% on esports rather than innovating gaming.

Gabe for sure have eaten a good chunk of my wallet over the years, I don't complain though! The memories and the friends I made through their games are something I treasure. My first NFT's collection is my Steam inventory :D

Yeah, the original Half-Life and the games built on top of it (Counter-Strike, Day of Defeat, Natural Selection to name the best) were incredible. People probably don't think about it anymore but Steam itself was built on the foundations of Counter-Strike and then Half-Life 2/Orange Box.

Both of which where bought ip's and developed to perfection.
I have 8000 hours on Team Fortress 2 and another 4000 hours at csgo lol.

I have too many hours into each of the sequels to the mods I mentioned, too. It's a big shame there isn't a Half-Life 3 for people to rally around and build on.