13 Reasons Why - Alex Standall

in #blog6 years ago

Dear Steemit,

I'm going to be biased in this one because Alex is by far my favorite character, besides Jeff, but we didn't see enough of him. Alex didn't do anything terrible to Hannah in comparison to the rest of the people on the tapes, but he is the one who feels the worst about it. He doesn't fight the guilt like the rest of the group, and he calls people out on their shit, and he does so in a way that isn't egotistical or trying to rub off the blame.

He was friends with Hannah, and he knows if it had stayed that way she might still be alive. The list he made was dumb and was intended to hurt Jessica, not Hannah, if I remember correctly. Which if you don't remember, he wrote on it that Hannah had the best ass. He was a fool in love, and oblivious to how he was making those around him feel. It would have been nice if he didn't let his relationship drive a wedge between them all, but he's in high school, a time where relationships are the biggest focus, and a broken heart is the end of the world.

Even though the list itself wasn't a big deal, Hannah's tapes brought into perspective how the list put a target on her back. People looked at her differently, and Bryce ended up grabbing her ass. I doubt Alex saw that coming.

I forgive him entirely. It was not right, it hurt Hannah, but it's understandable. It was as I said, foolish. And I don't think it puts much of a stain on Alex's character besides showing he was a jealous teenager, which he would have outgrown. I still see Alex as a person who means well, even if he made a mistake. I felt for him more and more as the series went on and especially at the end when he attempted suicide. It was really unexpected even though he was obviously feeling guilty and angry and depressed. I don't think Hannah would have wanted that either, because they were friends once, and his intentions weren't as bad as the outcome.

000.jpg