The Defiant Ones!

in #blog7 years ago

Hey my lovelies, guess who's finally peeking her head in? It feels like an eternity since I've written anything on here (although in reality, I'm pretty sure it's only been about a week and a half). But sometimes life just gets in the way you know?

I don't get a lot free time these days. Between work, family drama, and some pretty recent heath issues, life has gotten pretty chaotic and very frustrating.

suicidalviral.jpg

But more than anything else, lately I've been feeling pretty lost as far as my career and where I see myself. Not saying I don't like what I do. But I don't feel like I'm doing what I'm supposed to be doing if that makes any sense?

A friend of mine recommended that I watch the HBO series "The Defiant Ones"; the documentary of mega producer Jimmy Iovine and Hip Hop legend, Dr. Dre.

suicidalviral.jpg

So after taking a day off to get my thoughts together and recoup, I watched it. And holy shit did that show speak to me!

I'm not going to write a full on review, but here's what I learned from watching it.

1. PASSION IS EVERYTHING!

The biggest take away from The Defiant Ones was that Jimmy and Dre have always had a burning passion for music! You can see it whenever they talk about it.

It's not just something they did, it is who they are! They wake up thinking about music and go to sleep thinking about it. It's in their blood!

suicidalviral.jpg

Passion is something I'm pretty sure I have. The problem has always been that maybe I'm too passionate about too many things. And though that sounds great, it's not when you are trying to chose a specific direction for your life!

2. THERE IS NO PLAN B!

When you know you are meant to do something, anything other than that doesn't work. Both of these men made it very clear that there was no other choice but for them to have a career in music. It was their life. And it was either make it or die!

I don't know about all of you, but most of my life I've been told to always have a back-up plan in case my dream doesn't come true. It was ingrained in me since I was five years old.

suicidalviral.jpeg

But it wasn't until much later in life that I realized I was being taught that my dreams were most likely not going to happen. That only the "special few" get to realize their life's ambition.

Going for what you love is a risk. And if you don't give 100% to it, you are not going to achieve anything. It takes everything you have.

3. SET BACKS WILL JUST MAKE GREAT COMEBACKS!

Dr Dre is obviously a huge name in the rap industry. And he has been known as "the hit maker" since Straight Outta Compton hit the streets back in '88. He has discovered and produced some of the well-known artist today such as Snoop Dogg and Eminem. And top it all off, became the first BILLIONAIRE in Hip Hop when he sold his mega company BEATS to APPLE Inc.

suicidalviral.jpg

But along with these great accomplishments comes a laundry list of failures. CDs that completely bombed. Personal set-backs with his wife and family. Record labels that tried to screw him over. And so many other issues that would have made lesser people give up!

But it's because of the passion, determination, and foresight that he was able to take these blows to his career and his life and come back even stronger.

suicidalviral.jpg

It's the belief, not wishful thinking or hope, but true BELIEF that we can bring our goals to fruition.

Anyway...

We only get one crack at this life! And we decide how far we take it! Both Dr. Dre and Jimmy Iovine came from nothing. One from the streets of Compton, the other from the streets of Hell's Kitchen, and they both have made it to the very top of their respected fields. Why can't you or I?

suicidalviral.jpg

Watching this 4-part series really made a huge impact on me... especially right now. And again, I didn't want to write a full on review because it would be better watch it for yourselves, but! I did want to stress how much it will make you rethink your current path!

It feels really good to write again, and I really need to make more time to do it. Ta ta for now luvs!

Sort:  

great post

"Passion is everything." Yes, indeed. Thanks for sharing us your story.

Congratulations @suicidalviral! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @suicidalviral! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @suicidalviral! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!