Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 02/09/18> Writings , wishes, and OGT… lets see

in #blog6 years ago

Early in the evening on Thursday I completed my second writing contest and got it posted and dropped a link back at the contest post so they could find it when it comes time to judge the entries. This particular contest revolved around telling your story and plan with regard to steemit. I entered this particular contest for one simple reason, it was there. There were also a whole bunch of other writing contests on this list as well. “What list is that?”, you ask. That would be the list published by @moneyinfant , otherwise known as Steve Walters. Steve publishes a daily list with all the current writing contests that are going on in the steemit.com world. So my special thanks to Steve for making this list available for all of us. I might also mention Steve is a Texan, residing in the Austin, Texas area. So look him up if you’re ever over that way, he’s a Malbec guy, so don’t show up empty handed if plan on dropping in on him.

This contest I just entered was themed around “The Importance of Writing” and the guidelines were to tell how, why, and future plans that brought and keep you here at steemit. Well to be honest with you all, I’ve been getting a lot of practice on that subject of late. What started out as a personal secret with four new friends I met here back in September of 2017 has now been shared in different posts and discord channels I would guess 6 or 8 times. Each time I tell my reasons I will usually have at least one or more people tell me they are here for the same reasons, or at least pretty similar ones. So either ; great minds think alike, or a bunch of you folks are just trying to kiss up to me and make yourselves look good to me. I’m going to attribute it to the first part, great minds. The reasoning behind that is; why and who would want to kiss up to me? I’ve got this answer, “nobody in their right mind would.”

Let me mention one thing right now, and I am dead serious when I say this. You are going to see me entering more of these writing contests, but I am not doing it to overload you all with a bunch of my junk hoping you will upVote it. I know how hard it is to manage your voting power, I struggle with it all the time, so; don’t be running out and upvoting these entries because we know each other. That is not what these posts are for, this is a personal mission I am on to improve my writing, not nickel and dime you folks into building up my SBD or steem. If anything, just read them and drop a comment. I know how it is when you start getting overloaded by a follower who post multiple times a day; I have a couple I follow that it is not uncommon for them to post 3 to 5 things a day. I have chosen this avenue for self improvement because I don’t know any of these people who are offering these contests, so hopefully they will be brutally honest with their assessment of the entries and I can get some non bias evaluation of what I am writing.

Back when I had Fair Weather Internet and hadn’t yet realized my phone had hot spot capabilities I spent quite a few evenings laying out the outline for a book I would like to write. The book is a work in fictional form and takes place here in Texas in 2028, so if I am going to get this done I need to get going on writing it. Otherwise it may end up in the non-fiction category and be an historical account of that time frame if I don’t commit myself and get busy on this book by the end of the summer.

My daily dose column will continue, they will be easy to indentify; salt & pepper packets photo and it will be titled Daily Dose. Any other post will be flying the photo I used on the contest on Thursday, which is the state flag of Texas. Support me all you would like and then some on the Daily Dose posts, it will look better when my grand kids are reading them in 2047.

One last thing, I stopped by our church today, we got another container of food for the food pantry from Orphan Grain Train. I also now have a contact person there named Grant at OGT. I will be contacting him today, Friday, to visit with him about our community here at steemit.com and steem. I will keep you posted as that story develops. I’ve included a photo from Thursday with the door of the container open as the church was starting to unload the food.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

all photos are property of @sultnpapper

https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

Sort:  

Why thanks for the great shout out @sultnpapper! Knowing that my contest list has helped at least one person makes it all worth it, and now I'll be looking forward to your contest entries to see the evolution of your writing skills. Not to mention the eventual release of the story you outlined so long ago.

Oh, and it doesn't have to be Malbec, but should at least be red :)

It is the least I could do, searching the masses of stuff here to find these contests is no easy task for you and you deserve to be acknowledged and shown some appreciation for your efforts.
You are most welcome.

Follow back and upvote thank you

No thanks, I'm driving.