Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 11/27/17> Fishing the streams and ponds of Steemit…

in #blog7 years ago


The long holiday weekend is over now and it is time to get back to the normalcy of life, which means earning some money. So, before the weekend ended I determined that Sunday morning would be a good time to go fishing. The preacher isn’t going to miss me and youngest boy, there will be plenty of folks in the pews, besides, it’s not like the whole family is skipping out, my wife and daughters will be at Sunday school and the church service.

When I woke Sunday morning Shortie was already up, that little sweetheart had even brewed a pot of coffee for her old man. So with a cup in hand I decided I would take a quick trip around Steemit and see what was happening since I posted my daily dose the night before. My dose had 3 up votes and 2 comments so half my normal readers had already checked it out.

There are a bunch of features and tools on this platform and I don’t know a fraction of them, so with it still being dark outside, I had some time to explore.

A question that has always recurred in my mind as I use Steemit is, “how many people are really on here and participating?” As bright and talented as these app developers and code writers are I knew that somewhere on here there had to be a tool or app that would give a real time look at what is happening here. Now my task was to find that darn thing.

I went to the little magnifying glass thing and typed in a search for “real time Steemit user activity” and clicked the search button. The first search result that came up was a blog post from @roelandp from some time last year announcing a new tool he had developed and a link to his site called SteemStream.com . Sounded just like what I was looking for from the description he gave in the blog so, let’s give it look, and I clicked the link.

Let me tell you; you had better to be able to read fast. The page is set up in a scrolling format showing everything that is happening in real time, and the stuff is moving fast. Luckily for folks like me who are slow readers, he has a linear graph at the bottom of the page that is a hell of lot easier on the eyes and you can at least process what you are seeing, not like the scrolling action, which left me with the onset of a headache.

The linear graph covers a whole host of items on a time line that is blocked in 10 second increments. Those items include; upvotes , downvotes, comments, posts, sell orders, money transfers, new users, and “all TX”. I took the “TX” to mean all transactions, not just transactions from the great State of Texas, which is abbreviated as TX.

Now, in anybody’s book that is a whole load of useful information, and I spent quite a long time on the site just watching the graph time line on the bottom of the page. Most all the graph lines were showing peaks and valleys as one might expect to see and the lines are colored coded so it easy to know what you are looking at.

Before I knew it I had spent over an hour on that site watching the scrolling and watching the linear graph lines. The thing that stood out to me was the “yellow line” on the linear graph. That line shows the number of new users per minute, “0.0/M” was the number displayed the entire time I was on the site. Not one new user logged on in that hour which meant either that data wasn’t available or the site wasn’t getting any new users.

The latter of those two scenarios is the concerning part, or should be at least to whoever is piloting this boat as it sails the seas of the internet. Yes, it was early on Sunday morning in Texas, but it wasn’t early in all the other places around the world. To boot, despite all that information, I still had not found the puzzle piece I was looking for.

So, I did another search and found another site called Steemit Pond, that sounded right up my alley, I was going fishing anyway when I got done, so I ventured over there. The page is set up kind of like you are looking into an aquarium; the upvotes are signified as “little air bubbles” floating to the top of the page. Downvotes are signified by something sinking to the bottom, not quite sure what thing is that is pictured, but it was the only thing I saw sinking.

Comments are represented as fish coming into view from left side of the screen, there are five different types of fish, I don’t have a clue as to what the types represent. There are whales, and those represent new “Top Level Posts”, I don’t know a top level post from a hole in the ground, but my guess is, that it is made by the author and a re-steemed post. My other guess would be any post would have to start as top level since post earnings couldn’t be taken into consideration, I mean it’s real time and new, so there wouldn’t be any earnings yet.

One thing I didn’t see was the dolphins. According to the legend key, Dolphins are new accounts created, and just like over at SteemStream there weren’t any dolphins playing in the water for the hour I spend at the pond.
This site does have a neat feature and I haven’t used it, but I might, and that is you can track users with it and see what they have been doing. I might give that a shot some day, but not then.

The wife and girls had headed off to church and I was still working the Steemit Pond trying to catch the information I was looking for. I had been at it now for over three hours and I wasn’t having any luck.

What I am looking for is something in the form of the number of users logged into Steemit.com in real time, it could be in the form of a world map, showing each user a little “dot” on the map or it could just be a single line graph or even a “counter” like a lot of websites have that says “number of registered users online”. If you by chance know of such an app, tool or site please let me know in the comments below.

Four hours of searching was enough, I gave up, and by then my headache was in full force so the real fishing trip was scrapped. I should have just taken my cup of coffee, set on the porch and watched the sun come up. Next time I won’t make the same mistake, I really need to work on getting my priorities in line.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Sort:  

Haha! Real fishing first. then fake fishing. Steemit pond is a fascinating site. Hmm... this is definitely a good question, and I remember there's some good analysis by @paulag .. and here's a post that has an interactive dashboard in it: https://steemit.com/steemit/@paulag/analyzing-steemit-data-using-power-bi Hm.m. that's only about new users though. I'll have to dig to find more about activity.

Thanks, I'll check those links out. The more I think about it, bots would probably show up as "users on line" since they are always on for the most part. So even if we could see a number , it really wouldn't be accurate.

Real fishing first indeed! Man I need to get out on the water!

Fishing is good , doesn't matter if your catching anything, it is good for the mind. Thanks for stopping by and making yourself known.

Ah man, Sorry about the headache!
It's so easy to get sucked into doing research which seems so important at the time, but then we're often left with not so much to show for our time and regretting it.
It can become addictive checking back in on Steemit. Have I been upvoted? Does anyone see me? And then the disappointment when all you hear is the chirping of crickets and the wind blowing over the wasteland that is your payout ticker. Sigh.

I don't know of a map like that. Maybe ask on the group chats?

I know there is a page that shows you who has interacted most with your posts and who is your biggest fan. Can't remember off tge top of my head what it's called now.
I think the format of the platform still puts people off right now. People are waiting for apps like @appics to launch which will be more like Instagram and Facebook like they're used to.

Time to get this Monday morning going. Hope you have a good day.

#originalworks @originalworks @curie
Lets see if this works to call the voting groups and get you more followers 🙂

Thanks Lizelle,
I have always been a curious type person, I just would like to be able to see how many people are actually on here at the times I am on. Other than that I really don't have a need or a want. I know there are over 400,000 accounts but I saw an article one time back that said, if memory is correct, that over 35% still had the REP25, so they pretty came, saw, and left.
I appreciate the people I interact with on here, and consider each one a friend. So if it is 4 or 40,000 who read my stuff it doesn't matter, you all know why I am here, if not they can go back and read the grumpy old man post.
Thanks, have a great day.

i think @simplylizelle is referring to http://www.steemreports.com/
several of the areas of that app are useful and broke down in a visually digestible way

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sultnpapper to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Steem Stream is really facinating. Watching all the upvotes and comments and posts flowing down the screen. It's even stranger with the sound on. @ironshield

I didn't try it with sound, had I done that my head would have really exploded, but now since I know there is sound, I may just go back for 60 seconds so I can experience the whole enchilada. Thanks @ironshield .

i would love a real time app like you are referring to. hope you find it.
it is amazing how fast time can go exploring aspects of steemit. i get a bit overwhelmed at times and just revert back to simple plonk plonking of the key board and post. fancy markdowns and gifs, upvote bidding, bot trails, voting guilds, invite only chat rooms, flag wars, account mining, scam cans, and app plugs...damn...time to go fishing is right.

Yes, for the most part I'm a plonker myself. I like knowing what is available even if I have no need for it, this is just pure curiosity on how many are actually on when I'm on.

"Fishing?"

"No, drowning worms."

That would be me. I have NEVER caught a fish. Staring at graphs and fast-scrolling data, on the other hand, I can manage. Steemit Pond reminds me of some of the early screen savers.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

The good thing about fishing with worms is that even if you don't catch any fish you can always snack on the leftover bait.

Speaking of earning money, @sultnpapper -- you play poker, right? I heard about something a while ago that you might be interested in, if you haven't already heard about it:

https://steemit.com/poker/@jpederson96/two-full-monday-poker-tournaments

I have played in some tournaments with him, and I do play one of those on Monday nights. It's fun and I have put a few SBD's in my wallet so far. Thanks for keeping me in mind on things like this.

wow amazing post @sultnpapper
if you can visit to my post

I would love to visit your post. As soon as you can make a comment that isn't "canned spam" , you vote me and leave a comment of the exact wording all the time. Put some effort out and you might see me over there at your blog.