From Poor and Jobless to Running My Own Business (Part3)

in #blog7 years ago

So to pick up where I left off. I had discovered flipping.

images.jpeg

For those that don't know what this term means it means to buy something that has value cheapily and then quickly reselling it for a profit. It involves visiting flea markets or yard sales. Checking out the free sections at Craigslist or some other buy/sell platform. Those were my two main methods. You just have to find someone that is wanting to get rid of something pretty much and either they don't know the true value or they just don't care.

There's people that do this for a living and make good money at it. I wasn't one of those people. I made some extra money for sure but I was still working my retail job. To get to where you can make enough money for it to be your job requires some learning on your part and time to plan and study.

The easy way or doing it is to just go out shopping and if you think you found something then you could pull out your phone and search on Ebay or something to get an idea of what someone might pay for it. I mainly chose the easy way because I was working 40 hours a week and also doing some stuff on the side.

I did find some good flips. Craigslist is invaluable if you can be quick about it. There's a lot of people finding themselves having to move for example. They'll post something in the free section because they can't or won't take it with them. And since they're focused on moving soon they pretty much give away items because they're on a schedule.

You have to be fast though because free anything attracts a lot of attention. I've seen the moment someone posted something, immediately contacted them and said I was on my way, and still missed out on it because it's pretty much first come, first serve in this situation. Craigslist was where I found my biggest profit makers but most of my flips came from yards sales or flea markets because it's not like people are always trying to get rid of things that have good value.

I eventually stopped doing it because there's a season for yard sales and flea markets and during the off-season things can slow down quite a bit. There's no enough free stuff being offered on sell sites to fill in the blanks. I also didn't have the time to take it up to another level where I'd browse auction sites or something like that.

So what did I do next? I'll save that for the next part. Thanks you for reading.