In the Land of fire and Ice ✨

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Blue Lagoon, Iceland – one of the most magical spots I have ever visited!


Having some relaxing time in the mineral-rich milky-blue hot water, in the Blue Lagoon’s spectacular environment, surrounded by the pure nature, volcanic stones, and fresh Icelandic air, at the weather temperature around zero, is a unique experience for body and soul.
ja.JPG

While Iceland is a country with numerous of natural hot springs, the Blue Lagoon isn’t a natural phenomenon. At least not completely.
Lava shaped the huge pool, but the water is the result of filtered runoff from the nearby geothermal plant. The lagoon is made by accident, and it became the most popular attraction in Iceland.

2.png 1.png

3.png

Iceland is positioned between two continental plates, which movements cause earthquakes, volcano eruptions, leaving behind magnificent landscape, lava fields and geysers that define the nature of Iceland.
11.png
13.png
14.png
15.png

After 45-minute drive southwest from Reykjavik (about 20 minutes from the international airport at Keflavik), there it was! The most famous spa in the world!

44.png


The geothermal power plant Svartsengi is built in 1974 to create electricity using geothermal water that is found deep in the ground where freshwater and seawater combine at extreme temperatures in volcanic aquifers. The water is used to run turbines that generate electricity for nearby communities after which is used to feed the pool of the Blue Lagoon that contains around 9 million liters of water that renews every 2 days.

1111.png

1112.png

On its way to the surface, the geothermal water is passing through mineral-rich ground picking up minerals like silica and sulfur that are giving this water healing effects.
I can’t prove it right or wrong after recommended half an hour of soaking in the very hot water (temperature between 37°C and 40°C), but I remember, my hair suffered for some time. 🙄
The aqua blue color is just our perception. Presence of the silica and the way it reflects sunlight gives us this magical color. The water is actually milky white.
Sometimes, water can have a hint of green color, which is the results of algae that multiplies quickly when is has direct exposure to sunlight. This happens in the summertime, so on photos, you can see different shades of blue, green and white.

The lagoon is not deep at all. Mostly between 0.8 and 1.2 meters and in its deepest point is 1.4 meters. So if you want to keep yourself warm, band your knees. 😉
It was a bit uncomfortable to go inside the hot water from the low outside temperature that was not so bad for the summer time (around 10°C). Still, I needed a couple of minutes to adjust my body to the temperature difference.
5.png

6.png

Be sure to make a reservation, or there is a big chance for standing in a line for nothing. Yearly, there are almost 1.8 million tourists visit Iceland, and at least half of them goes to the Blue Lagoon. I was in ˝go for it˝ half 😁

ja1.JPG

Thanks for reading! 😇
Be happy, go travel, and make an adventure of every single day!


!steemitworldmap 64.134638 lat -21.86907 long The Blue Lagoon Spa in Iceland D3SCR

Follow SF.png

Sort:  

Incredible and very interesting place @sun-flower. :) Land of fire and ice, how strong it sounds :)
I would like to visit Iceland, so thank you for this post! I enjoyed :)

I'm glad you like it!
Iceland would be a paradise for you 😉

Awesome
Now I wanna go double as much! Great stuff 👍 beautiful

Some extra motivation is always helpful 😉

Удри овај лепи текст и на српском, @sun-flower, одлична си! :)

Hvala! 😇
Hoću, nadam se već danas da ću to da odradim 😉

OK, water temperature suits me fine, but how do you get out of that nice, warm bath to the zero temperature, @sun-flower? :)

Just a few seconds to go into the building, to get a warm shower, get dry, and if it's necessary, to eat very expensive sandwiches 😁
(around dollars for a simple sandwich and a bottle of water 🙄 - craaaaazy)

Great travel blog. That spa looks divine!

Thanks @dijana969
I absolutely agree with you! 😍
It is a magnificent place.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sun-flower
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=in-the-land-of-fire-and-ice


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Aau, ovaj broj posetioca me je sokirao :) A i cinjenica da izlazis na deset stepeni leti iz vode, neka, neka, lepo je na slici :)
Svakako odlican post!

Ja sam jedna od zimogrožljivih :)
Ali toliko se nakupi toplote za pola sata, da tih nekoliko sekundi prilikom izlaska iz vode nije strašno.

Verujem da je jedinstvo iskustvo u pitanju, celo okruzenje deluje krajnje nadrealno. A boje su divne :)

@sun-flower
I need to get out there more :-)
safe travels

If you are in Iceland, why not... It's healthy.
If not - put it on the list! 😉

Indeed I will, until then I will just soak in the stream across from me, lol

You sun-flower are more beautiful, good luck...

:*
Thanks ;)

Iceland is on my to do list. I would love to travel to the blue lagoon.
Have a look at my first travelblog about Kenya.

The world is small. A bit of organization, and we can see everything we like.
Safari? 😃 Yes, I'll check your blog.

True words. If I could I would be sitting in a plane right know. Where you want to go next ?

Hmmm... It is easy to make me go somewhere 😃
For sure, I'll go to Turkey soon, but I want to see Cuba, Dubai, Bali, etc. :)
I want everything 😎

Looks like an amazing place, I want to go there! You have my upvote!

If you have a chance, take it! Realy a unique experience 😇

Nice and wonderful @sun-flower🌹